198803 VU Introduction to Programming: Programming in R

winter semester 2024/2025 | Last update: 24.05.2024 Place course on memo list
198803
VU Introduction to Programming: Programming in R
VU 3
5
weekly
each semester
English

Acquisition of introductory procedural programming skills and knowledge of the R programming language. Ability to develop (basic) programs, especially for data science.

This basic level course offers a gentle introduction to programming with R. It is dedicated to non-computer science students without any prior experience in programming.

The course will start with an introduction to the concepts of procedural programming followed by an introduction to R. The students will learn about data types, basic control flows, functions, and data import/export. Students will be guided from novice to intermediate level in programming by learning concepts and doing practical examples/exercises of increasing difficulty.

Presentation of lecture slides by lecturer, discussion of examples. Preparation and presentation of exercises and programming examples by participants, discussion.

Excercises, practical programming examples, written/online exam.

Reto Stauffer, Joanna Chimiak-Opoka, Thorsten Simon, Achim Zeileis: Introduction to Programming with R

Students from programmes without coverage (or with minimal coverage only) of topics related to mathematics, logic, and statistics are recommended to take 198.812 "Computer Programming Prerequisites" (VU1) as a supportive course blocked at the beginning of the semester (5 weeks).

Courses from the "Introduction to Programming"  module are exclusive alternatives, which means one may either register to 198801 (Python) or to 198803 (R). 

This course is for all bachelor students and master students excluding Computer Science students and master students in Information Systems. For the latest, there are dedicated programming courses (course numbers starting with prefix 703 and 437, respectively).

The acceptance procedure is based on prioritised randomisation. Students advanced in completion of the Digital Science minor get precedence.

see dates
Group 1
Umlauf N.
Date Time Location
Tue 2024-10-01
15.30 - 18.15 SR 7 (Sowi) SR 7 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Tue 2024-10-08
15.30 - 18.15 SR 7 (Sowi) SR 7 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Tue 2024-10-15
15.30 - 18.15 SR 7 (Sowi) SR 7 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Tue 2024-10-22
15.30 - 18.15 SR 7 (Sowi) SR 7 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Tue 2024-10-29
15.30 - 18.15 SR 7 (Sowi) SR 7 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Tue 2024-11-05
15.30 - 18.15 SR 7 (Sowi) SR 7 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Tue 2024-11-12
15.30 - 18.15 SR 7 (Sowi) SR 7 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Tue 2024-11-19
15.30 - 18.15 SR 7 (Sowi) SR 7 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Thu 2024-11-21
09.45 - 13.00 UR 3 (Sowi) UR 3 (Sowi) Barrier-free mid-term exam for all groups
Tue 2024-11-26
15.30 - 18.15 SR 7 (Sowi) SR 7 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Tue 2024-12-03
15.30 - 18.15 SR 7 (Sowi) SR 7 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Tue 2024-12-10
15.30 - 18.15 SR 7 (Sowi) SR 7 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Tue 2025-01-07
15.30 - 18.15 SR 7 (Sowi) SR 7 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Tue 2025-01-14
15.30 - 18.15 SR 7 (Sowi) SR 7 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Tue 2025-01-21
15.00 - 18.15 MS (Theologie) MS (Theologie) Barrier-free final exam for all groups
Tue 2025-01-28
15.30 - 18.15 SR 7 (Sowi) SR 7 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Group 2
Finotello F.
Date Time Location
Thu 2024-10-03
10.15 - 13.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2024-10-10
10.15 - 13.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2024-10-17
10.15 - 13.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2024-10-24
10.15 - 13.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2024-10-31
10.15 - 13.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2024-11-07
10.15 - 13.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2024-11-14
10.15 - 13.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2024-11-21
09.45 - 13.00 UR 3 (Sowi) UR 3 (Sowi) Barrier-free mid-term exam for all groups
Thu 2024-11-28
10.15 - 13.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2024-12-05
10.15 - 13.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2024-12-12
10.15 - 13.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2025-01-09
10.15 - 13.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2025-01-16
10.15 - 13.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2025-01-21
15.00 - 18.15 MS (Theologie) MS (Theologie) Barrier-free final exam for all groups
Thu 2025-01-23
10.15 - 13.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2025-01-30
10.15 - 13.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online