609765 Concepts, Contexts, Theories of Cultural Studies: British and Anglophone Cultures: Gruppe A

summer semester 2013 | Last update: 04.03.2013 Place course on memo list
609765
Concepts, Contexts, Theories of Cultural Studies: British and Anglophone Cultures: Gruppe A
VU 2
5
weekly
each semester
English
To achieve a basis in the theory of Cultural Studies and acquire an overview of British culture
The concepts and theories of power, gender, education and globalisation, identity and self, media and film, extremism, language, geographical concepts etc. The processes and systems of British culture, customs, changes and repercussions, the creation of social subgroups, multiculturalism. A blending of theory and practice.
Presentations - including contemporary sources (DVDs, Internet, Youtube etc.), in-class discussions to heighten cultural awareness and critical thinking. Attendance at first session is obligatory.
Final exam, regular written assignments (dossier) and tasks and class participation
Judy Giles & Tim Middleton: Studying Culture: A Practical Introduction James O'Driscoll: Britain (with workbook)
Group 0
Date Time Location
Mon 2013-03-04
13.45 - 15.15 52U105 52U105 Barrier-free
Mon 2013-03-11
13.45 - 15.15 52U105 52U105 Barrier-free
Mon 2013-03-18
13.45 - 15.15 52U105 52U105 Barrier-free
Mon 2013-04-08
13.45 - 15.15 52U105 52U105 Barrier-free
Mon 2013-04-15
13.45 - 15.15 52U105 52U105 Barrier-free
Mon 2013-04-22
13.45 - 15.15 52U105 52U105 Barrier-free
Mon 2013-04-29
13.45 - 15.15 52U105 52U105 Barrier-free
Mon 2013-05-06
13.45 - 15.15 52U105 52U105 Barrier-free
Mon 2013-05-13
13.45 - 15.15 52U105 52U105 Barrier-free
Mon 2013-05-27
13.45 - 15.15 52U105 52U105 Barrier-free
Mon 2013-06-03
13.45 - 15.15 52U105 52U105 Barrier-free
Mon 2013-06-10
13.45 - 15.15 52U105 52U105 Barrier-free
Mon 2013-06-17
13.45 - 15.15 52U105 52U105 Barrier-free
Mon 2013-06-24
13.45 - 15.15 52U105 52U105 Barrier-free