609173 Gender Studies: Cartographies of Gender in Critical Theory, Contemporary Literature and Film

summer semester 2014 | Last update: 27.06.2017 Place course on memo list
609173
Gender Studies: Cartographies of Gender in Critical Theory, Contemporary Literature and Film
VU 2
5
weekly
each semester
English

This course introduces students to key concepts, trends, and directions in the field of Gender Studies through the analysis of a selection of texts in critical theory, contemporary literature, and Hollywood film.

Throughout this course, we will examine how gender is systematically entangled with other axes of differentiation such as sexuality, nation, class, and race, often with political, cultural, and ethical repercussions. Focusing on the late 20th and 21st centuries, we will draw a road map of some of the most influential theories in feminist, lesbian, and queer studies, concentrating particularly on the areas of subjectivity, power, the body, and locationality. Ultimately, this course encourages students to approach Gender Studies, in its broadest sense, as a box of tools with which to engage critically with written and visual texts, and begin to carve out their own position as public intellectuals. 

Continuous assessment (based on regular written and/or oral contributions by the participants). 

Course examination according to § 7, statute section on "study law regulations".

The syllabus will be accessible through OLAT a week before the course begins. 

05.03.2014
Group 0
Date Time Location
Wed 2014-03-05
10.15 - 11.45 40136 40136 Barrier-free
Wed 2014-03-12
10.15 - 11.45 40136 40136 Barrier-free
Wed 2014-03-19
10.15 - 11.45 40136 40136 Barrier-free
Wed 2014-03-26
10.15 - 11.45 40136 40136 Barrier-free
Wed 2014-04-02
10.15 - 11.45 40136 40136 Barrier-free
Wed 2014-04-09
10.15 - 11.45 40136 40136 Barrier-free
Wed 2014-04-30
10.15 - 11.45 40136 40136 Barrier-free
Wed 2014-05-07
10.15 - 11.45 40136 40136 Barrier-free
Wed 2014-05-14
10.15 - 11.45 40136 40136 Barrier-free
Wed 2014-05-21
10.15 - 11.45 40136 40136 Barrier-free
Wed 2014-05-28
10.15 - 11.45 40136 40136 Barrier-free
Wed 2014-06-04
10.15 - 11.45 40136 40136 Barrier-free
Wed 2014-06-11
10.15 - 11.45 40136 40136 Barrier-free
Wed 2014-06-18
10.15 - 11.45 40136 40136 Barrier-free
Wed 2014-06-25
10.15 - 11.45 40136 40136 Barrier-free