610008 Concepts, Contexts, Theories of Cultural Studies: American Cultures: Focus Film

summer semester 2014 | Last update: 16.05.2014 Place course on memo list
610008
Concepts, Contexts, Theories of Cultural Studies: American Cultures: Focus Film
VU 2
5
weekly
each semester
English

To become familiar with key concepts and methodologies of cultural studies that are particularly relevant to the study of film and media; to develop and advance audiovisual analytical skills in order to interpret moving images in their historical and cultural contexts.

This course serves as an introduction to the cultural study of cinema and media. We will discuss a variety of approaches to studying film that include technological, institutional, economic, and sociological dimensions of cinema. We will explore the role of film as a mass medium of cultural expression by examining aspects of film style, genre, and reception in relation to issues of class, ethnicity, and gender.

Lecture input, discussion, reading and viewing assignments, short written assignments, small collaborative media projects

Active participation, final exam

Will be discussed in the first lesson.

Prerequisite for the Bachelor's Programme: none

For the Diploma Programme (343): elective compulsory subject

06.03.2014
Group 0
Date Time Location
Thu 2014-03-06
10.15 - 11.45 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Thu 2014-03-13
10.15 - 11.45 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Thu 2014-03-20
10.15 - 11.45 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Thu 2014-03-27
10.15 - 11.45 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Thu 2014-04-03
10.15 - 11.45 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Thu 2014-04-10
10.15 - 11.45 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Thu 2014-05-08
10.15 - 11.45 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Thu 2014-05-15
10.15 - 11.45 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Thu 2014-05-22
10.15 - 11.45 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Thu 2014-06-05
10.15 - 11.45 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Thu 2014-06-12
10.15 - 11.45 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Thu 2014-06-26
10.15 - 11.45 50101/1 SR 50101/1 SR Barrier-free 1. Prüfungstermin
Wed 2014-10-01
10.00 - 12.00 Hörsaal 6 Hörsaal 6 Barrier-free 2. Prüfungstermin