103207 Concepts of Media Competence and Media Education

winter semester 2014/2015 | Last update: 20.02.2015 Place course on memo list
103207
Concepts of Media Competence and Media Education
VO 2
4
weekly
annually
German

The aim of this lecture is to sensitize participants to essential features and aspects of media competence and media education with a focus on future emancipatory and pedagogic human activities.

Since Niklas Luhman it has become common knowledge that what we know about the world is knowledge through media and that media is inextricably linked to how we articulate and understand ourselves and our relationships with others. Therefore, education has also increasingly become media education.  Traditional socialisation processes are being pushed into the background while the boundaries between  'real' everyday life and 'fictional' reality transmitted through media are being dissolved. Identity is being formed through media narratives. This great narrative formed by the electronic media plays a crucial part in the construction of one's own identity.

The content of the seminar tries to answer current needs regarding a deeper understanding of the link between media and education on the basis of the latest research and theoretical concepts in media education. The idea that education and socialisation are influenced and steered by the media is central to our method of investigation. 

Written exam

Introduction: Benjamin Jörrisen u. Winfried Marotzki: Medienbildung - eine Einführung. Theorie - Methoden - Analysen. Stuttgart 2009: UTB

A detailed reading list will be provided in the first meeting.

not applicable
06.10.2014
Group 0
Date Time Location
Mon 2014-10-06
08.30 - 10.00 Hörsaal 5 Hörsaal 5 Barrier-free
Mon 2014-10-13
08.30 - 10.00 Hörsaal 5 Hörsaal 5 Barrier-free
Mon 2014-10-20
08.30 - 10.00 Hörsaal 5 Hörsaal 5 Barrier-free
Mon 2014-10-27
08.30 - 10.00 Hörsaal 5 Hörsaal 5 Barrier-free
Mon 2014-11-03
08.30 - 10.00 Hörsaal 5 Hörsaal 5 Barrier-free
Mon 2014-11-10
08.30 - 10.00 Hörsaal 5 Hörsaal 5 Barrier-free
Mon 2014-11-17
08.30 - 10.00 Hörsaal 5 Hörsaal 5 Barrier-free
Mon 2014-11-24
08.30 - 10.00 Hörsaal 5 Hörsaal 5 Barrier-free
Mon 2014-12-01
08.30 - 10.00 Hörsaal 5 Hörsaal 5 Barrier-free
Mon 2014-12-15
08.30 - 10.00 Hörsaal 5 Hörsaal 5 Barrier-free
Mon 2015-01-12
08.30 - 10.00 Hörsaal 5 Hörsaal 5 Barrier-free
Mon 2015-01-19
08.30 - 10.00 Hörsaal 5 Hörsaal 5 Barrier-free
Mon 2015-01-26
08.30 - 10.00 Hörsaal 5 Hörsaal 5 Barrier-free
Mon 2015-02-02
08.30 - 10.00 Hörsaal 5 Hörsaal 5 Barrier-free
Mon 2015-02-02
10.00 - 11.30 Hörsaal 5 Hörsaal 5 Barrier-free