611825 Literature and Culture - Literary Studies: Exile and Spanish Literature - 19th and 20th centuries

winter semester 2015/2016 | Last update: 07.04.2016 Place course on memo list
611825
Literature and Culture - Literary Studies: Exile and Spanish Literature - 19th and 20th centuries
SE 2
12,5
weekly
each semester
Spanish

Theoretical approach of exile and exile literature; discussion of spanish exile literature in the 19th and 20th centuries

During the 19th century many spanish authors are forced to exile (during the regime of Fernando VII); in their literary texts (mainly poetry) - caracterized by romanticism - they discuss experiences of distance, loss and alienation.

In the 20th century the Spanish Civil War and the regimen of Franco caused the exile of many spanish writes: the generation of 27 (Cernuda, Alberti, Aub), José Ramón Sender, Juan Goytisolo, Fernando Arrabal and others.

Based on a choice of literary texts (novels, drama, poetry) we will discuss concepts of identity, belonging and alterity.

presentations, reading and discussion

oral presentation, active participation, seminar paper

a reading list wil be distributed during the first lesson

see dates
Group 0
Date Time Location
Wed 2015-10-07
08.30 - 10.00 50109/3 SR 50109/3 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2015-10-14
08.30 - 10.00 50109/3 SR 50109/3 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2015-10-21
08.30 - 10.00 50109/3 SR 50109/3 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2015-10-28
08.30 - 10.00 50109/3 SR 50109/3 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2015-11-04
08.30 - 10.00 50109/3 SR 50109/3 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2015-11-11
08.30 - 10.00 50109/3 SR 50109/3 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2015-11-18
08.30 - 10.00 50109/3 SR 50109/3 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2015-11-25
08.30 - 10.00 50109/3 SR 50109/3 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2015-12-02
08.30 - 10.00 50109/3 SR 50109/3 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2015-12-09
08.30 - 10.00 50109/3 SR 50109/3 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2015-12-16
08.30 - 10.00 50109/3 SR 50109/3 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2016-01-13
08.30 - 10.00 50109/3 SR 50109/3 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2016-01-20
08.30 - 10.00 50109/3 SR 50109/3 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2016-01-27
08.30 - 10.00 50109/3 SR 50109/3 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2016-02-03
08.30 - 10.00 50109/3 SR 50109/3 SR Barrier-free