611702 Analysis and Interpretation - Linguistics

summer semester 2016 | Last update: 27.06.2016 Place course on memo list
611702
Analysis and Interpretation - Linguistics
VO 2
7,5
weekly
each semester
Italian

Course objectives: to highlight the grammar inherent in the lexicon through the analysis and interpretation of concrete linguistic material (sentences and texts).

The course aims to show that many features of the morpho-syntactic and functional grammar of the Italian language are contained in part in the vocabulary and, vice versa, that the way in which lexemes are combined together to form larger units (noun phrases, verb phrases, phrases and sentences) has an immediate effect on the meaning they have turned in their structures. It will then be taken into account the following aspects: the types of events and states of affairs and their effect on the structure of the sentence; the valence of the verb (with inclusion of the valence of nouns and adjectives); the syntactic and semantic contribution of the adverb / preposition in the syntagmatic verbs; the effect (eg intensification, quantification, qualification) on the meaning of the head of a noun or prepositional phrase by the different types of attributes (adjectives, prepositional phrases, relative clauses); the expression of different types of modality and potentiality; the expression of factitivity and causativity; compositional types and conceptualization of the concepts expressed by them.

The lessons provide inputs by the teacher concerning the theory of the topics which will be discussed in-depth in class on the basis of concrete examples (sentences and texts). This practical part of the course will offer students the opportunity to contribute actively to the success of the lessons, encouraging through the analysis and interpretation of concrete linguistic material to learn important aspects of grammar of the Italian language associated with its lexicon.

Written exam (dates: 29.6.; 8.7.; 7.10.2016)

The in-depth literature will be made known in the beginning of semester.

see dates
Group 0
Date Time Location
Wed 2016-03-09
12.00 - 13.30 50109/3 SR 50109/3 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2016-03-16
12.00 - 13.30 50109/3 SR 50109/3 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2016-04-06
12.00 - 13.30 50109/3 SR 50109/3 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2016-04-13
12.00 - 13.30 50109/3 SR 50109/3 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2016-04-20
12.00 - 13.30 50109/3 SR 50109/3 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2016-04-27
12.00 - 13.30 50109/3 SR 50109/3 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2016-05-04
12.00 - 13.30 50109/3 SR 50109/3 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2016-05-11
12.00 - 13.30 50109/3 SR 50109/3 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2016-05-18
12.00 - 13.30 50109/3 SR 50109/3 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2016-05-25
12.00 - 13.30 50109/3 SR 50109/3 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2016-06-01
12.00 - 13.30 50109/3 SR 50109/3 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2016-06-08
12.00 - 13.30 50109/3 SR 50109/3 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2016-06-15
12.00 - 13.30 50109/3 SR 50109/3 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2016-06-22
12.00 - 13.30 50109/3 SR 50109/3 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2016-06-29
12.00 - 13.30 50109/3 SR 50109/3 SR Barrier-free
Fri 2016-07-08
16.00 - 17.30 50109/3 SR 50109/3 SR Barrier-free 2.Prüfungstermin
Fri 2016-10-07
16.00 - 17.30 52U105 52U105 Barrier-free 3.Prüfungstermin