716013 Fundamentals of philosophy of science in geography

summer semester 2016 | Last update: 30.05.2016 Place course on memo list
716013
Fundamentals of philosophy of science in geography
VO 1
2
weekly
annually
German

Students will learn:

  • central concepts like theory, hypothesis etc.
  • to understand geographical research processes
  • to differentiate epistemological positions
  • to unterstand different types of logical reasoning
  • to understand how paradigms work
  • to refelct ethical aspects of geographical research
  • to understand multi-, inter- and transdiciplinary research processes

This course focusses on the epistemological, paradigmatical, logical and methodological foundations of modern geography.

Lecture, assessment is based on a single examination at the end of the course.

written examination

  • Egner, H. (2010): Theoretische Geographie. Hemsbach, Wissenschaftliche Buchgesellschaft.
  • Borsdorf, A. (2007): Geographisch denken und wissenschaftlich arbeiten. 2. Aufl., München, Spektrum Akademischer Verlag.
not applicable
see dates
Group 0
Date Time Location
Wed 2016-03-09
12.00 - 13.30 Hörsaal 6 Hörsaal 6 Barrier-free
Wed 2016-03-16
12.00 - 13.30 Hörsaal 6 Hörsaal 6 Barrier-free
Wed 2016-04-06
12.00 - 13.30 Hörsaal 6 Hörsaal 6 Barrier-free
Wed 2016-04-13
12.00 - 13.30 Hörsaal 6 Hörsaal 6 Barrier-free
Wed 2016-04-20
12.00 - 13.30 Hörsaal 6 Hörsaal 6 Barrier-free
Wed 2016-04-27
12.00 - 13.30 Hörsaal 6 Hörsaal 6 Barrier-free
Wed 2016-05-04
12.00 - 13.30 Hörsaal 6 Hörsaal 6 Barrier-free
Wed 2016-05-11
12.00 - 13.30 Hörsaal 6 Hörsaal 6 Barrier-free
Mon 2016-10-03
10.15 - 11.00 Hörsaal 2 Hörsaal 2 Barrier-free 2. Prüfungstermin
Mon 2016-12-05
13.45 - 14.30 Hörsaal 2 Hörsaal 2 Barrier-free 3. Prüfungstermin