611251 VU Contemporary Italy and its Representation in the Media

summer semester 2017 | Last update: 28.03.2017 Place course on memo list
611251
VU Contemporary Italy and its Representation in the Media
VU 2
2
weekly
each semester
Italian

The purpose of this course is to present some important aspects of the Italian history from the '80s up to today and to focus on migrations to Italy of nowadays. We will be committed to study the representation of migrations on the media, especially in the cinema from the '90 to today.

The last 25 years: from the first to the second Republic; "Mani pulite" and corruption in Italy; migrations; the mafia and its connections to political power; from Berlusconi to Monti.

The program will be presented through lectures, use of multimedia supports and vision of films. The participants will hold presentations and submit written exercices.

Final written examination + presentation on a given subject. Submission of a final written paper.

Daniela Bartalesi-Graf, L'Italia dal Fascismo ad oggi: percorsi paralleli nella storia, nella letteratura e nel cinema, Guerra Edizioni, Perugia, 2005 (only chapter 5). Further bibliography will be discussed in the class.

Students are kindely required to follow the course after Landeskunde VO.

Due to substantial differences in the allocation of ECTS-Credits in various curricula (teacher training programs/specialized degree programs), the requirements for this course vary. Information will be provided by the instructor at the beginning of the course. 

It is recommended to attend this course after having passed the exams of italienisch II and Kulturstudien VO

see dates
Group 0
Date Time Location
Mon 2017-03-06
15.30 - 17.00 40801 SR 40801 SR Barrier-free
Mon 2017-03-13
15.30 - 17.00 40801 SR 40801 SR Barrier-free
Mon 2017-03-20
15.30 - 17.00 40801 SR 40801 SR Barrier-free
Mon 2017-03-27
10.15 - 11.45 4DG12 4DG12
Mon 2017-04-03
15.30 - 17.00 40801 SR 40801 SR Barrier-free
Mon 2017-04-24
15.30 - 17.00 40801 SR 40801 SR Barrier-free
Mon 2017-05-08
15.30 - 17.00 40801 SR 40801 SR Barrier-free
Mon 2017-05-15
15.30 - 17.00 40801 SR 40801 SR Barrier-free
Mon 2017-05-22
15.30 - 17.00 40801 SR 40801 SR Barrier-free
Mon 2017-05-29
15.30 - 17.00 40801 SR 40801 SR Barrier-free
Mon 2017-06-12
15.30 - 17.00 40801 SR 40801 SR Barrier-free
Mon 2017-06-19
15.30 - 17.00 40801 SR 40801 SR Barrier-free
Mon 2017-06-26
15.30 - 17.00 40801 SR 40801 SR Barrier-free