611623 Literature and Culture - Literary Studies

summer semester 2017 | Last update: 24.04.2017 Place course on memo list
611623
Literature and Culture - Literary Studies
SE 2
12,5
weekly
every 2nd year
French

* Exploring the relations between literature and knowledge - a field of study florishing recently within the 'Literature & Science Studies'.
*What can literature know? What are the 'qualities' of this (dissident?) knowledge?
*Knowledge of important theoretical key concepts
*Knowledge of important literary texts reflecting illness and medecine
*Knowledge of important aesthetic strategies
*Elaboration and application of analytical tools

 

 

Literature can be considered as 'inter-discourse' able to integrate different fields of knowledge and to appropriate this knowledge in dissident ways.

The following questions will be of interest:
* Why literature often integrates medical knowledge?
* Is literature able to cure? (Cf. Bibliotherapy)
* Is literature of any importance for medecine?

Lecture, discussion, group work

Reading comprehension of the chosen texts, active participation in the course, one oral presentation, one written paper. Details will be given at the beginnning of the term.

Cf. german version of the description

Due to substantial differences in the allocation of ECTS-Credits in various curricula (teacher training programs/specialized degree programs), the requirements for this course vary. Information will be provided by the instructor at the beginning of the course. 

 

see dates
Group 0
Date Time Location
Mon 2017-03-06
10.15 - 11.45 40620 SR 40620 SR Barrier-free
Mon 2017-03-13
10.15 - 11.45 40620 SR 40620 SR Barrier-free
Mon 2017-03-20
10.15 - 11.45 40620 SR 40620 SR Barrier-free
Mon 2017-03-27
10.15 - 11.45 40620 SR 40620 SR Barrier-free
Mon 2017-04-03
10.15 - 11.45 40620 SR 40620 SR Barrier-free
Mon 2017-04-24
10.15 - 11.45 40620 SR 40620 SR Barrier-free
Mon 2017-05-08
10.15 - 11.45 40620 SR 40620 SR Barrier-free
Mon 2017-05-15
10.15 - 11.45 40620 SR 40620 SR Barrier-free
Mon 2017-05-22
10.15 - 11.45 40620 SR 40620 SR Barrier-free
Mon 2017-05-29
10.15 - 11.45 40620 SR 40620 SR Barrier-free
Mon 2017-06-12
10.15 - 11.45 40620 SR 40620 SR Barrier-free
Mon 2017-06-19
10.15 - 11.45 40620 SR 40620 SR Barrier-free
Mon 2017-06-26
10.15 - 11.45 40620 SR 40620 SR Barrier-free