645406 History outside Europe

summer semester 2017 | Last update: 06.12.2016 Place course on memo list
645406
History outside Europe
VO 2
5
weekly
each semester
English

Fundamental knowledge of Atlantic history.

This course focuses on the various contacts and interactions that shaped the Atlantic World from its earliest inception through the early nineteenth century. From the fifteenth century, the continents that border the Atlantic have been connected through colonization, trade, and migration. These transatlantic connections transformed commerce, environment, political organization, cultures, and communities on the European, African, and American continents. This course surveys these Atlantic borderlands, how they connected, and how they transformed when they became part of the Atlantic World. As part of the course, we will investigate the cultures, communities, and interactions between the peoples that created new worlds for all in the Atlantic World.

Instructor presentation with visual aids.  Discussion of lectures and readings.

Written test at the end of the semester.

To be discussed at the outset of the course. 

not applicable

This course is also considered Non-European History I or II for students of the curriculum BA History (2009). In this case, a reduced workload applies.

06.04.2017
Group 0
Date Time Location
Thu 2017-04-06
15.30 - 17.00 Hörsaal 3 Hörsaal 3 Barrier-free
Thu 2017-04-27
15.30 - 17.00 Hörsaal 3 Hörsaal 3 Barrier-free
Thu 2017-05-04
15.30 - 17.00 Hörsaal 3 Hörsaal 3 Barrier-free
Thu 2017-05-11
15.30 - 17.00 Hörsaal 3 Hörsaal 3 Barrier-free
Thu 2017-05-18
15.30 - 17.00 Hörsaal 3 Hörsaal 3 Barrier-free
Thu 2017-06-01
15.30 - 17.00 Hörsaal 3 Hörsaal 3 Barrier-free
Fri 2017-06-02
10.15 - 12.30 Hörsaal 7 Hörsaal 7 Barrier-free
Thu 2017-06-08
15.30 - 17.00 Hörsaal 3 Hörsaal 3 Barrier-free
Fri 2017-06-16
10.15 - 12.30 Hörsaal 7 Hörsaal 7 Barrier-free
Thu 2017-06-22
15.30 - 17.00 Hörsaal 3 Hörsaal 3 Barrier-free
Thu 2017-06-29
15.30 - 17.00 Hörsaal 3 Hörsaal 3 Barrier-free 1. Exam
Fri 2017-06-30
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 7 Hörsaal 7 Barrier-free 2. Exam