707821 Advanced Topics in Climate and Cryosphere: European Climate Change

summer semester 2017 | Last update: 12.05.2017 Place course on memo list
707821
Advanced Topics in Climate and Cryosphere: European Climate Change
VU 1
1,5
weekly
every 2nd year
English

Teaching aim:
The lecture provides an overview of climate change in Europe, from a physical and atmospheric science perspective. The focus is on methods, projections and the underlying physical processes and feedbacks, but past observations will partly also be addressed.

Drivers (greenhouse gases, aerosols, land-surface changes, natural variability)
Methods (global and regional climate models, statistical downscaling)
Key physical concepts (radiation balance, Clausius-Clapeyron effect, convection)
Regional feedback effects (soil-moisture temperature feedback, Mediterranean amplification)
Extreme events (heat waves, heavy precipitation events)
Current projections (Europe and Alpine region)

Lectures, recommended reading tasks

written exam at end of course

Slides and literature will be provided as pdf-files

Basics in meteorology and climatology

not applicable

Will be taught as a block course (7x2 hours with weekly rhythm),
Will be taught in English

25.04.2017
Group 0
Date Time Location
Tue 2017-04-25
08.15 - 09.45 60819 SR 60819 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2017-04-26
14.45 - 15.30 60819 SR 60819 SR Barrier-free
Tue 2017-05-02
08.15 - 09.45 60819 SR 60819 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2017-05-03
14.45 - 15.30 60819 SR 60819 SR Barrier-free
Tue 2017-05-09
08.15 - 09.45 60819 SR 60819 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2017-05-10
14.45 - 15.30 60819 SR 60819 SR Barrier-free
Tue 2017-05-16
08.15 - 09.45 60819 SR 60819 SR Barrier-free
Tue 2017-05-23
08.15 - 09.45 60819 SR 60819 SR Barrier-free
Tue 2017-05-30
08.15 - 09.45 60819 SR 60819 SR Barrier-free
Tue 2017-06-13
08.15 - 09.45 60819 SR 60819 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2017-06-14
14.30 - 15.30 UNO Saal UNO Saal Barrier-free Prüfung