715173 VO/2 Geophysics

summer semester 2017 | Last update: 17.08.2017 Place course on memo list
715173
Geophysics
VO 2
2,5
weekly
annually
German

At the end of this course, students are able to: 

- apply basic physical concepts to describe the geosphere

- classify, relate and describe different geodynamic processes within their respective spatial and temporal scales. 

The course provides a broad overview of the main geophysical themes including Earth movements, shape and gravity of the Earth, Earth magnetism, seismology and geodynamics.

Moreover, it briefly introduces the student into the concepts of applied geophysics, such as gravimetry, magnetics, geoelectrics, ground penetrating radar and reflection/refraction seismology.

Lectures including small exercises and case studies.

Written exam at the end of semester.

Lowrie (2007) Fundamentals of Geophysics (Cambridge University Press)

Useful websites and papers will be distributed in each lecture.

not applicable
06.03.2017
Group 0
Date Time Location
Thu 2017-03-09
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 4 Hörsaal 4 Barrier-free Induction loops for hearing impaired
Mon 2017-03-13
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 4 Hörsaal 4 Barrier-free Induction loops for hearing impaired
Thu 2017-03-16
12.00 - 13.30 Hörsaal 5 Hörsaal 5 Barrier-free
Mon 2017-03-20
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 4 Hörsaal 4 Barrier-free Induction loops for hearing impaired
Mon 2017-03-27
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 4 Hörsaal 4 Barrier-free Induction loops for hearing impaired
Thu 2017-03-30
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal B Hörsaal B Barrier-free
Mon 2017-04-03
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 4 Hörsaal 4 Barrier-free Induction loops for hearing impaired
Mon 2017-04-24
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 4 Hörsaal 4 Barrier-free Induction loops for hearing impaired
Thu 2017-04-27
10.00 - 11.30 Hörsaal B Hörsaal B Barrier-free
Mon 2017-05-08
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 4 Hörsaal 4 Barrier-free Induction loops for hearing impaired
Mon 2017-05-15
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 4 Hörsaal 4 Barrier-free Induction loops for hearing impaired
Mon 2017-05-22
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 4 Hörsaal 4 Barrier-free Induction loops for hearing impaired
Mon 2017-05-29
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 4 Hörsaal 4 Barrier-free Induction loops for hearing impaired
Mon 2017-06-12
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 4 Hörsaal 4 Barrier-free Induction loops for hearing impaired
Mon 2017-06-19
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 4 Hörsaal 4 Barrier-free Induction loops for hearing impaired
Mon 2017-06-26
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 4 Hörsaal 4 Barrier-free Induction loops for hearing impaired