608215 PS Modern German Literature I: Franz Werfel

winter semester 2017/2018 | Last update: 15.12.2017 Place course on memo list
608215
PS Modern German Literature I: Franz Werfel
PS 2
5
weekly
each semester
German

The students will learn to interprete Werfel's texts in a mixture of close reading and contextual analysis.

The Austrian author Franz Werfel is an important figure to work out the relationships between religion and avantgarde. So the course will reconstruct the development of Franz Werfel from expressionism to catholicism by take a closer look on his novels, poems and essays. The interpretation will be linked with cultural history of the early 20th century. 

We will look into the novels, poems and essays of Franz Werfel by a close reading and use different methods of literary research that allow a close look at the variety of Werfels works

Presentations at course, Seminar Paper (12-15 pages)

You should have passed an "Introduction in German Literature"

05.10.2017
Group 0
Date Time Location
Thu 2017-10-05
15.30 - 17.00 40832 SR 40832 SR Barrier-free
Thu 2017-10-12
15.30 - 17.00 40832 SR 40832 SR Barrier-free
Thu 2017-10-19
15.30 - 17.00 40832 SR 40832 SR Barrier-free
Thu 2017-11-09
15.30 - 17.00 40832 SR 40832 SR Barrier-free
Thu 2017-11-16
15.30 - 17.00 40832 SR 40832 SR Barrier-free
Thu 2017-11-23
15.30 - 17.00 40832 SR 40832 SR Barrier-free
Thu 2017-11-30
15.30 - 17.00 40832 SR 40832 SR Barrier-free
Thu 2017-12-07
15.30 - 17.00 40832 SR 40832 SR Barrier-free
Thu 2017-12-14
15.30 - 17.00 40832 SR 40832 SR Barrier-free
Thu 2018-01-11
15.30 - 17.00 40832 SR 40832 SR Barrier-free
Thu 2018-01-18
15.30 - 17.00 40832 SR 40832 SR Barrier-free
Thu 2018-01-25
15.30 - 17.00 40832 SR 40832 SR Barrier-free
Thu 2018-02-01
15.30 - 17.00 40832 SR 40832 SR Barrier-free