716511 Social Science Methods: qualitative basic methods

winter semester 2017/2018 | Last update: 13.12.2017 Place course on memo list
716511
Social Science Methods: qualitative basic methods
VU 3
5
weekly
annually
German

Knowledge on the suitability of qualitative methods for specific research issues and on how to design/develop qualitative research (from first steps to final text).

The overall lecture goal is to gain methodological competencies which later can be applied in the elective area and the students' Master theses. The lecture focus will be on the process of and reflections on empirical qualitative research.


Short overview on the methodology and methods of qualitative research, particularly qualitative interviews and expert interviews.

Key questions: What is qualitative research? How does it relate to other methods used in social science/geography? What are the work steps until the final outcomes, the time needed and the quality requirements?


Work on qualitative texts (to be read in sessions). Groupwork with inputs from lecturers. Design, execution and evaluation of own qualitative-empirical research project in small groups. Individual consultations on work progress with lecturers.


written and oral

will be announced during first meeting

not applicable

Concept and workload: The work-intensive lecture concept is based on a high level of student participation. The workload comprises working with relevant (english) literature, homework and a small qualitative research project in groupwork.


 

12.10.2017
Group 0
Date Time Location
Thu 2017-10-12
11.00 - 13.30 60708 SR 60708 SR
Thu 2017-10-19
11.00 - 13.30 60708 SR 60708 SR
Thu 2017-11-09
11.00 - 13.30 60708 SR 60708 SR
Thu 2017-11-16
11.00 - 13.30 60708 SR 60708 SR
Thu 2017-11-23
11.00 - 13.30 60708 SR 60708 SR
Thu 2017-11-30
11.00 - 13.30 60708 SR 60708 SR
Thu 2017-12-07
11.00 - 13.30 60708 SR 60708 SR
Thu 2017-12-14
11.00 - 13.30 Besprechungsraum Geographie Besprechungsraum Geographie
Thu 2018-01-11
11.00 - 13.30 60708 SR 60708 SR
Thu 2018-01-18
11.00 - 13.30 60708 SR 60708 SR
Thu 2018-01-18
11.00 - 13.30 Container 1 Container 1 Ausweichtermin Bachelorseminar Geographie
Thu 2018-01-25
11.00 - 13.30 60708 SR 60708 SR
Thu 2018-02-01
11.00 - 13.30 60708 SR 60708 SR