146677 MANG 3401.3 - Introduction to Management & Organizational Behavior

summer semester 2018 | Last update: 26.07.2018 Place course on memo list
146677
MANG 3401.3 - Introduction to Management & Organizational Behavior
SE 3
4,5
not applicable
annually
English

Offered each semester. Prerequisites: ACCT 2100 (Principles of Accounting) and ECON 1203 (Principles of Microeconomics) or 1200. An examination of management practices, behavioral implications and organizational systems from the perspective of classical and contemporary theory.

The term “management” applies to virtually all efforts to guide and direct the work of people, processes and systems. It has particular, scientific relevance when applied to guiding the efforts of other human beings in a formal workplace. Most importantly, it is the framework within which people who work for compensation earn promotions, pay raises, title changes and extra perquisites of the job. Organizations are the primary means by which people combine their professional efforts to achieve a set of desired outcomes. Therefore, “management” and “organizations” represent the fundamental platforms for the supervision of the efforts of others in their professional work and the attainment of agreed upon objectives—at all levels, for all types of work and in all places.
The purpose of this course is for each student to:

  • Know the essential elements of twenty-first century management practices
  • Understand the dynamics that affect management processes
  • Be familiar with current management practices issues and trends
  • Be able to discuss specific relevant examples of real-world management situations

The University of New Orleans International Summer School program has a mandatory class attendance policy. All students are required to attend class for all morning classes and any required afternoon and/or weekend fields trips and lectures. No unexcused absences are allowed. However, LFU students who have to miss a UNO class due to LFU examinations in the first two weeks of our program, can receive one excused absence for this. Any further unexcused absences will result in an academic penalty. Each faculty member determines the penalty for missed classes. Most professors deduct a letter grade for each additional missed class day. For details, please refer to your course syllabi, which will be distributed on the first day of class. Mail: Center-New-Orleans@uibk.ac.at

see dates
Group 0
Date Time Location
Mon 2018-07-02
11.00 - 12.30 40506 SR 40506 SR Barrier-free
Tue 2018-07-03
11.00 - 12.30 40506 SR 40506 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2018-07-04
11.00 - 12.30 40506 SR 40506 SR Barrier-free
Thu 2018-07-05
11.00 - 12.30 40506 SR 40506 SR Barrier-free
Fri 2018-07-06
11.00 - 12.30 40506 SR 40506 SR Barrier-free
Mon 2018-07-09
11.00 - 12.30 40506 SR 40506 SR Barrier-free
Tue 2018-07-10
11.00 - 12.30 40506 SR 40506 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2018-07-11
11.00 - 12.30 40506 SR 40506 SR Barrier-free
Thu 2018-07-12
11.00 - 12.30 40506 SR 40506 SR Barrier-free
Mon 2018-07-16
11.00 - 12.30 40506 SR 40506 SR Barrier-free
Tue 2018-07-17
11.00 - 12.30 40506 SR 40506 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2018-07-18
11.00 - 12.30 40506 SR 40506 SR Barrier-free
Thu 2018-07-19
11.00 - 12.30 40506 SR 40506 SR Barrier-free
Mon 2018-07-23
11.00 - 12.30 40506 SR 40506 SR Barrier-free
Tue 2018-07-24
11.00 - 12.30 40506 SR 40506 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2018-07-25
11.00 - 12.30 40506 SR 40506 SR Barrier-free
Thu 2018-07-26
11.00 - 12.30 40506 SR 40506 SR Barrier-free
Mon 2018-07-30
11.00 - 12.30 40506 SR 40506 SR Barrier-free
Tue 2018-07-31
11.00 - 12.30 40506 SR 40506 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2018-08-01
11.00 - 12.30 40506 SR 40506 SR Barrier-free
Thu 2018-08-02
11.00 - 12.30 40506 SR 40506 SR Barrier-free
Mon 2018-08-06
11.00 - 12.30 40506 SR 40506 SR Barrier-free
Tue 2018-08-07
11.00 - 12.30 40506 SR 40506 SR Barrier-free
Wed 2018-08-08
11.00 - 12.30 40506 SR 40506 SR Barrier-free
Thu 2018-08-09
11.00 - 12.30 40506 SR 40506 SR Barrier-free