610010 VU Introduction to Media Studies

summer semester 2018 | Last update: 23.05.2018 Place course on memo list
610010
VU Introduction to Media Studies
VU 2
2,5
weekly
each semester
English

To become familiar with key concepts and methodologies of media studies; to develop and advance audiovisual analytical skills and to interpret different media formats and practices in their historical and cultural contexts.

This course serves as an introduction to cultural and media studies. It provides a survey of the historical developments of mass-media and new-media cultures (e.g., print, film, television, or the internet) and introduces key concepts and methods of studying media. Individual sessions are organized around core issues in media studies such as institution, genre, audience, attention, and creativity. As this course is part of the Bachelor Program Lehramt, there is a special focus on 'media literacy' and 'making media.'

Lecture input, discussion, reading and viewing assignments, short written assignments, small collaborative media projects, final exam.

Active participation, short written assignments, group projects

Course materials will be posted on OLAT.

none

not applicable
07.03.2018
Group 0
Date Time Location
Wed 2018-03-07
12.00 - 13.30 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Wed 2018-03-14
12.00 - 13.30 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Wed 2018-03-21
12.00 - 13.30 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Wed 2018-04-11
12.00 - 13.30 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Wed 2018-04-18
12.00 - 13.30 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Wed 2018-04-25
12.00 - 13.30 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Wed 2018-05-02
12.00 - 13.30 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Wed 2018-05-09
12.00 - 13.30 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Wed 2018-05-16
12.00 - 13.30 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Wed 2018-05-23
12.00 - 13.30 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Wed 2018-05-30
12.00 - 13.30 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Wed 2018-06-06
12.00 - 13.30 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Wed 2018-06-13
12.00 - 13.30 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Wed 2018-06-20
12.00 - 13.30 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Wed 2018-06-27
12.00 - 13.30 40935 SR 40935 SR Barrier-free Induction loops for hearing impaired