611326 Advanced Text and/or Media Analysis Using Examples from Spanish-Speaking Regions

summer semester 2018 | Last update: 09.02.2018 Place course on memo list
611326
Advanced Text and/or Media Analysis Using Examples from Spanish-Speaking Regions
PS 2
2,5
weekly
annually
Spanish

Students will learn about

-- the picaresque genre in Spain: development in the 16th century and tradition of the genre in and outside Spain

-- variations of the model during the 20th century in Spanish Fiction

-- introduction to the tradition of novela picaresca in Spain

-- reading of Lazarillo de Tormes; elements of the picaresque novel: retrospective narration, pseudo-autobiography, episodical narration etc.

-- analisis of various texts of the 20th century based on the picaresque novel

A combination of: lectures by the professor, students’ presentations and general debates.

Requirements for the final assessment:

- Active participation in class

- Oral presentation of a self-chosen topic

- A final exam

- A written paper (10 pages), in German or Spanish, with bibliography

 

Lazarillo de Tormes

Camilo José Cela: La familia de Pascual Duarte

Eduardo Mendoza: El misterio de la cripta embrujada

Juan Marsé: El amante bilingüe

not applicable

I’d like to remind the students that, in case they intend to write their B.A.-papers in this course, they should let me know in the first two weeks of the semester! The deadline for B.A.-papers written during the summer term 2016 is the 15th of February 2017. 

B.A.-papers are additional to PS-papers, what means you should write 10 pages for your PS-paper AND 30-40 for your B.A.-paper.

see dates
Group 0
Date Time Location
Thu 2018-03-08
12.00 - 13.30 40136 40136 Barrier-free
Thu 2018-03-15
12.00 - 13.30 40136 40136 Barrier-free
Thu 2018-03-22
12.00 - 13.30 40136 40136 Barrier-free
Thu 2018-04-12
12.00 - 13.30 40136 40136 Barrier-free
Thu 2018-04-19
12.00 - 13.30 40136 40136 Barrier-free
Thu 2018-04-26
12.00 - 13.30 40136 40136 Barrier-free
Thu 2018-05-03
12.00 - 13.30 40136 40136 Barrier-free
Thu 2018-05-17
12.00 - 13.30 40136 40136 Barrier-free
Thu 2018-05-24
12.00 - 13.30 40136 40136 Barrier-free
Thu 2018-06-07
12.00 - 13.30 40136 40136 Barrier-free
Thu 2018-06-14
12.00 - 13.30 40136 40136 Barrier-free
Thu 2018-06-21
12.00 - 13.30 40136 40136 Barrier-free
Thu 2018-06-28
12.00 - 13.30 40136 40136 Barrier-free