744922 Introduction to the theory of atoms, molecules and clusters

summer semester 2018 | Last update: 22.11.2018 Place course on memo list
744922
Introduction to the theory of atoms, molecules and clusters
VO 2
5
weekly
every 2nd year
English

A deeper understanding of quantum mechanical and classical descriptions of molecules and clusters with a special focus on methods for systems with many degrees of freedom.

  • the pillars of quantum chemistry
  • the role of exchange, correlation, and dispersion
  • density functional theory and its applications
  • molecular dynamics vs direct dynamics
  • calculation of spectra of molecules
  • path integral molecular dynamics

Lecture with blackboard and beamer

Written exam

Will be discussed at the beginning of the course

Classical mechanics and quantum mechanics 1

not applicable

Date and time of the lecture will be scheduled together at the first meeting on March 7, 15:00 in room 3/36 (Viktor Franz Hess Haus, 3. Stock). The detailed content will be adjusted to the needs of the students.

07.03.2018
Group 0
Date Time Location
Fri 2018-03-09
09.00 - 10.30 Seminarraum 609 Seminarraum 609
Fri 2018-03-16
09.00 - 10.30 Seminarraum 609 Seminarraum 609
Fri 2018-03-23
09.00 - 10.30 Seminarraum 3/05 Seminarraum 3/05
Fri 2018-04-13
09.00 - 10.30 Seminarraum 609 Seminarraum 609
Fri 2018-04-20
09.00 - 10.30 Seminarraum 609 Seminarraum 609
Fri 2018-04-27
09.00 - 10.30 Seminarraum 609 Seminarraum 609
Fri 2018-05-04
09.00 - 10.30 Seminarraum 609 Seminarraum 609
Fri 2018-05-18
08.00 - 11.30 Seminarraum 609 Seminarraum 609
Fri 2018-05-25
09.00 - 10.30 Seminarraum 609 Seminarraum 609
Fri 2018-06-01
09.00 - 10.30 Seminarraum 609 Seminarraum 609
Fri 2018-06-08
08.00 - 11.30 Seminarraum 609 Seminarraum 609
Fri 2018-06-22
09.00 - 10.30 Seminarraum 609 Seminarraum 609
Fri 2018-06-29
09.00 - 10.30 Seminarraum 609 Seminarraum 609
Mon 2018-07-09
09.00 - 10.00 Seminarraum 3/05 Seminarraum 3/05 Klausur