608255 PS Contemporary German Literature II

winter semester 2018/2019 | Last update: 24.10.2018 Place course on memo list
608255
PS Contemporary German Literature II
PS 2
5
weekly
each semester
German

Students are able to name interrelations of literary and cultural history with the example of representative authors, works and genres, especially from the 18th to the middle of the 19 th century. They are able to describe the processes of canonisation and reception. They can outline the interactions developments in society, literature and cultural history (e.g. gender-specific developments) and are able to independently analyse and interpret literary texts based on scientific standards. 

In the course of the eighteenth century, the writing and reading of letters exploded. Voltaire should have written up to 80 letters a day. The reasons for this are manifold, ranging from an improvement of the general postal delivery to the redesign of the letter as a medium of the private and intimate, of personal opinions and views. Located between oral and written language, the letter was also closely related to the development of the novel, especially the epistolary novel.

Based on selected text examples, the proseminar gives an overview of 18th century epistolary culture

introductory presentation, groupwork, lecture of primary and secondary sources, discussions 

written text (ca. 12 pages)

Will be announced in the first session.

The positive completion of PM 7 (VO2 Theory, Methodology and Systematics of Literary Studies) is no longer required as a prerequisite for admission to PM 10 and PM 13 (according to the Curriculum for the Bachelor Thesis in German Studies 2015).

02.10.2018
Group 0
Date Time Location
Tue 2018-10-02
15.30 - 17.00 40832 SR 40832 SR Barrier-free
Tue 2018-10-09
15.30 - 17.00 40832 SR 40832 SR Barrier-free
Tue 2018-10-16
15.30 - 17.00 40832 SR 40832 SR Barrier-free
Tue 2018-10-23
15.30 - 17.00 40832 SR 40832 SR Barrier-free
Tue 2018-10-30
15.30 - 17.00 40832 SR 40832 SR Barrier-free
Tue 2018-11-06
15.30 - 17.00 40832 SR 40832 SR Barrier-free
Tue 2018-11-13
15.30 - 17.00 40832 SR 40832 SR Barrier-free
Tue 2018-11-20
15.30 - 17.00 40832 SR 40832 SR Barrier-free
Tue 2018-11-27
15.30 - 17.00 40832 SR 40832 SR Barrier-free
Tue 2018-12-04
15.30 - 17.00 40832 SR 40832 SR Barrier-free
Tue 2018-12-11
15.30 - 17.00 40832 SR 40832 SR Barrier-free
Tue 2019-01-08
15.30 - 17.00 40832 SR 40832 SR Barrier-free
Tue 2019-01-15
15.30 - 17.00 40832 SR 40832 SR Barrier-free
Tue 2019-01-22
15.30 - 17.00 40832 SR 40832 SR Barrier-free
Tue 2019-01-29
15.30 - 17.00 40832 SR 40832 SR Barrier-free