645208 PS Austrian History: Habsburg goes global

winter semester 2018/2019 | Last update: 08.07.2018 Place course on memo list
645208
PS Austrian History: Habsburg goes global
PS 2
5
weekly
each semester
German

Getting aquainted with and testing global historical approaches in the context of Austrian History, strengthening subject-specific academic work.

Is it possible to write the history of the Austrian lands respectively the Habsburg Monarchy out of a global historical perspective? How far has the interconnection and comparison to go to suffice the ideal of a cross-linking of so called world regions? The connections with the two Americas is ready to hand - as for example the relation of the Spanish Habsburg's lands with the colonies or dynastic ties and experiments, linked with the persons of the Empress of Brazil and the Emperor of Mexico in the nineteenth century. More comprehensive were wars and peace negotiations - like the Seven-Years-War, the Congress of Vienna and the First World War. Or is everything Global History, as long as the focus lies on the global impact on the monarchy, on a region? These and further considerations will be part of the course.

Inputs from the course leader, discussion of articles and sources, practising of scientific working, interactive presentation of sources by the participants in the context of their chosen focus.

Continuous participation and discussion, preparation of articles, developing of a leading question, drawing up a concept paper, presentation of sources and a written paper of 15 pages.

Literature will be announced in course.

not applicable

 

03.10.2018
Group 0
Date Time Location
Wed 2018-10-03
10.15 - 11.45 40601 UR 40601 UR Barrier-free
Wed 2018-10-10
10.15 - 11.45 40601 UR 40601 UR Barrier-free
Wed 2018-10-17
10.15 - 11.45 40601 UR 40601 UR Barrier-free
Wed 2018-10-24
10.15 - 11.45 40601 UR 40601 UR Barrier-free
Wed 2018-10-31
10.15 - 11.45 40601 UR 40601 UR Barrier-free
Wed 2018-11-07
10.15 - 11.45 40601 UR 40601 UR Barrier-free
Wed 2018-11-14
10.15 - 11.45 40601 UR 40601 UR Barrier-free
Wed 2018-11-21
10.15 - 11.45 40601 UR 40601 UR Barrier-free
Wed 2018-11-28
10.15 - 11.45 40601 UR 40601 UR Barrier-free
Wed 2018-12-05
10.15 - 11.45 40601 UR 40601 UR Barrier-free
Wed 2018-12-12
10.15 - 11.45 40601 UR 40601 UR Barrier-free
Wed 2019-01-09
10.15 - 11.45 40601 UR 40601 UR Barrier-free
Wed 2019-01-16
10.15 - 11.45 40601 UR 40601 UR Barrier-free
Wed 2019-01-23
10.15 - 11.45 40601 UR 40601 UR Barrier-free
Wed 2019-01-30
10.15 - 11.45 40601 UR 40601 UR Barrier-free