402121 SE Comparative Politics - Enhanced Level

winter semester 2019/2020 | Last update: 05.11.2019 Place course on memo list
402121
SE Comparative Politics - Enhanced Level
SE 2
5
weekly
each semester
German

Comparative Politics - Enhanced Level 


Students acquire the ability to illustrate and explain the structure and function profiles of different democratic governmental systems. Moreover, they are able to individually analyse and evaluate complex phenomena from the field of comparative government based on relevant theoretical-conceptual approaches.

Based on a critical assessment of different crisis diagnoses of contemporary representative democracy, this seminar shall look at different reform agendas and institutional innovations designed to revitalize and improve the performance of representative democracy from a comparative perspective. This shall include, inter alia, compulsory voting, child enfranchisement, term limits, and gender quotas.

Reading, presentations and discussion; assessment on the basis of oral presentations and written term papers.

Oral (presentations) & written (term paper)

Claus Offe (Hrsg.), Demokratisierung der Demokratie: Diagnosen und Reformvorschläge, Frankfurt a.M./New York 2003

successful completion of compulsory modules 1, 2 , 3 and 7

08.10.2019
Group 0
Date Time Location
Tue 2019-10-08
16.00 - 17.45 SR 5 (Sowi) SR 5 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Tue 2019-10-15
16.00 - 17.45 SR 5 (Sowi) SR 5 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Tue 2019-10-22
16.00 - 17.45 SR 5 (Sowi) SR 5 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Tue 2019-10-29
16.00 - 17.45 SR 5 (Sowi) SR 5 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Tue 2019-11-05
16.00 - 17.45 SR 5 (Sowi) SR 5 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Tue 2019-11-12
16.00 - 17.45 SR 5 (Sowi) SR 5 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Tue 2019-11-19
16.00 - 17.45 SR 5 (Sowi) SR 5 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Tue 2019-11-26
16.00 - 17.45 SR 5 (Sowi) SR 5 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Tue 2019-12-03
16.00 - 17.45 SR 5 (Sowi) SR 5 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Tue 2019-12-10
16.00 - 17.45 SR 10 (Sowi) SR 10 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Tue 2020-01-07
16.00 - 17.45 SR 5 (Sowi) SR 5 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Tue 2020-01-14
16.00 - 17.45 SR 5 (Sowi) SR 5 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Tue 2020-01-21
16.00 - 17.45 SR 5 (Sowi) SR 5 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Tue 2020-01-28
16.00 - 17.45 SR 5 (Sowi) SR 5 (Sowi) Barrier-free