610015 SE American Literature, Culture and Media: American Short Fiction and Nature

winter semester 2019/2020 | Last update: 13.11.2019 Place course on memo list
610015
SE American Literature, Culture and Media: American Short Fiction and Nature
SE 2
5
weekly
each semester
English

This course is designed to provide a survey of American short fiction and its relationship to natur.

This course is designed to provide a survey of American short fiction and its relationship to nature. We will discuss examples of major American short stories, including: Washington Irving, "Rip Van Winkle"; Nathaniel Hawthorne, "Rapaccini's Daughter" and "The Birthmark;" Edgar Allan Poe, "The Murders in the Rue Morgue", "The Fall of the House of Usher", "Ligeia" and "The Philosophy of Composition;" Herman Melville, "Bartleby, the Scrivener"; Louisa May Alcott, "Behind the Mask;" Mark Twain, "The 1Billion $ Bank Note;" Ambrose Bierce, "An Occurrence at Owl Creek Bridge;" Henry James, "The Beast in the Jungle", and Charlotte Perkins Gilman, "The Yellow Wallpaper."

Presentations, discussions, reading and writing assignments.

Students are encouraged to enlist for research topics and topics for discussion leading prior to the seminar.

Active participation, presentation with discussion leading, and a research paper (12-15 pages, MLA-style)

As far as possible, course materials and selected secondary sources will be posted on OLAT.

BA 2015: positive completion of compulsory modules 10, 11 and 12

not applicable
07.10.2019
Group 0
Date Time Location
Mon 2019-10-07
15.30 - 17.00 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Mon 2019-10-14
15.30 - 17.00 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Mon 2019-10-21
15.30 - 17.00 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Mon 2019-10-28
15.30 - 17.00 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Mon 2019-11-04
15.30 - 17.00 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Mon 2019-11-11
15.30 - 17.00 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Mon 2019-11-18
15.30 - 17.00 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Mon 2019-11-25
15.30 - 17.00 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Mon 2019-12-02
15.30 - 17.00 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Mon 2019-12-09
15.30 - 17.00 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Mon 2020-01-13
15.30 - 17.00 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Mon 2020-01-20
15.30 - 17.00 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Mon 2020-01-27
15.30 - 17.00 40130 40130 Barrier-free