610025 VO American Literature and Culture (mit Leseliste): American Drama

winter semester 2019/2020 | Last update: 13.11.2019 Place course on memo list
610025
VO American Literature and Culture (mit Leseliste): American Drama
VO 2
5
weekly
each semester
English

The lecture is meant to help understand the specific aspects of the literary genre of drama in general as well as its development in the US by means of the discussion of individual authors and their plays.

The lecture will provide an introduction to the literary genre of drama in the US as well as an outline of its development in the 20th century. In chronological order, the most important American playwrights will be discussed and some of their plays will be analyzed in detail. It will be required to read 10-12 plays altogether.

Lecture

Oral

A list of works to be read will be distributed in the first session of class.

Prerequisite for the Master's Programme: none

not applicable

The lecture "VO American Literature and Culture (mit Leseliste)“ can be attended as the lecture "VO American Literature and Culture II” with an additional reading list. If you wish to obtain credits for both lectures, the lectures’ contents must differ substantially.

For the Teacher Training Programme (Lehramtsstudium: 344): VO2: American Literature and Culture (mit Leseliste).

Due to substantial differences in the allocation of ECTS-Credits in various curricula (teacher training program - BA/MA English and American Studies), the requirements for this course vary. Information will be provided by the instructor at the beginning of the course. 

02.10.2019
Group 0
Date Time Location
Wed 2019-10-02
10.15 - 11.45 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Wed 2019-10-09
10.15 - 11.45 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Wed 2019-10-16
10.15 - 11.45 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Wed 2019-10-23
10.15 - 11.45 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Wed 2019-10-30
10.15 - 11.45 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Wed 2019-11-06
10.15 - 11.45 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Wed 2019-11-13
10.15 - 11.45 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Wed 2019-11-20
10.15 - 11.45 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Wed 2019-11-27
10.15 - 11.45 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Wed 2019-12-04
10.15 - 11.45 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Wed 2019-12-11
10.15 - 11.45 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Wed 2020-01-08
10.15 - 11.45 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Wed 2020-01-15
10.15 - 11.45 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Wed 2020-01-22
10.15 - 11.45 40130 40130 Barrier-free
Wed 2020-01-29
10.15 - 11.45 40130 40130 Barrier-free