618015 SE Genre V: Porcelain

winter semester 2019/2020 | Last update: 29.10.2019 Place course on memo list
618015
SE Genre V: Porcelain
SE 2
5
weekly
not applicable
German

Expanded knowledge and independent application of art-historical methods on examples referred to in the lecture

Porcelain - the "white gold" - was considered one of the most precious materials for many centuries. Invented in China during the Tang dynasty (618-906), it was unknown in Europe until the early 14th century. The imported goods from Asia awoke the ambition to reveal the secret of its production - which was finally succeeded 400 years later. The history of porcelain will be traced from its beginnings in Asia via the European imitational experiments to its discovery in Meissen and further development in various European manufactories. Students will investigate forms and functions of porcelains in consideration of the artistic and cultural developments in the different centuries.

Presentations, discussions and written work

This course is assessed via continuous assessment and attendance is compulsory, oral/written presentations

To be announced in the course

not applicable

LFU: online registration is required!

08.10.2019
Group 0
Date Time Location
Tue 2019-10-08
15.30 - 17.00 41031 UR 41031 UR Barrier-free
Tue 2019-10-15
15.30 - 17.00 41031 UR 41031 UR Barrier-free
Tue 2019-10-22
15.30 - 17.00 41031 UR 41031 UR Barrier-free
Tue 2019-11-05
15.30 - 17.00 41031 UR 41031 UR Barrier-free
Tue 2019-11-12
15.30 - 17.00 41031 UR 41031 UR Barrier-free
Tue 2019-11-19
15.30 - 17.00 41031 UR 41031 UR Barrier-free
Tue 2019-11-26
15.30 - 17.00 41031 UR 41031 UR Barrier-free
Tue 2019-12-03
15.30 - 17.00 41031 UR 41031 UR Barrier-free
Tue 2019-12-10
15.30 - 17.00 41031 UR 41031 UR Barrier-free
Tue 2020-01-14
15.30 - 17.00 41031 UR 41031 UR Barrier-free
Tue 2020-01-21
15.30 - 17.00 41031 UR 41031 UR Barrier-free
Tue 2020-01-28
15.30 - 17.00 41031 UR 41031 UR Barrier-free