800703 VU Detecting, understanding and communicating climate change

winter semester 2019/2020 | Last update: 29.11.2019 Place course on memo list
800703
VU Detecting, understanding and communicating climate change
VU 2
2,5
Block
annually
English

Students will know and understand the key components of the climate system, and the diverse processes that cause climate changes on various time scales. They will be able to explain the difference between present and past climate changes, and to assess future changes and the respective uncertainties. They will be aware of the challenges and risks of climate change communication.     

l  History of Earth’s climate, reconstructions from various archives (geological records, tree rings, ice cores etc), and the instrumental record.

l  Factors that cause climate changes, distinction between natural and anthropogenic forcings.

l  Projections for the 21st century and beyond including glacier shrinkage and sea level rise.

Communication strategies to enhance awareness of human responsibilities, counteract misinformation and discuss mitigation strategies.     

not applicable
14.10.2019
Group 0
Date Time Location
Mon 2019-10-14
17.30 - 18.30 60708 SR 60708 SR
Tue 2019-10-22
17.30 - 19.00 60708 SR 60708 SR
Tue 2019-10-29
17.30 - 19.00 60708 SR 60708 SR
Tue 2019-11-05
17.30 - 19.00 60708 SR 60708 SR
Tue 2019-11-12
17.45 - 19.15 60708 SR 60708 SR
Tue 2019-11-19
17.30 - 19.00 60708 SR 60708 SR
Tue 2019-11-26
17.30 - 19.00 60708 SR 60708 SR
Tue 2020-01-14
17.00 - 19.00 60708 SR 60708 SR Termin findet im ORF Landestudio Tirol statt
Tue 2020-01-21
17.30 - 19.00 60708 SR 60708 SR
Tue 2020-01-28
13.30 - 17.00 Container 2 Container 2 Termin findet im Bildungshaus Seehof statt