198803 VU Introduction to Programming: Programming in R

summer semester 2020 | Last update: 30.09.2020 Place course on memo list
198803
VU Introduction to Programming: Programming in R
VU 3
5
weekly
each semester
English

Acquisition of introductory procedural programming skills and knowledge of the R programming language. Ability to develop (basic) programs, especially for data science.

This basic level course offers a gentle introduction to programming with R. It is dedicated to non-computer science students without any prior experience in programming.

The course will start with an introduction to the concepts of procedural programming followed by an introduction to R. The students will learn about data types, basic control flows, functions, and data import/export. Students will be guided from novice to intermediate level in programming by learning concepts and doing practical examples/exercises of increasing difficulty.

Presentation of lecture slides by lecturer, discussion of examples. Preparation and presentation of exercises and programming examples by participants, discussion.

Excercises, practical programming examples, written exam.

Reto Stauffer, Thorsten Simon, Achim Zeileis: Introduction to Programming with R 

Students from programmes without coverage (or with minimal coverage only) of topics related to mathematics, logic, and statistics are recommended to take 198.812 "Computer Programming Prerequisites" (VU1) as a supportive course blocked at the beginning of the semester (5 weeks).

not applicable

This course is for all bachelor students and master students excluding Computer Science students (in all study programs) and master students in Information Systems.

The acceptance is based on prioritised randomisation. Active students of Complementary Subject Area Digital Science get precedence. 

see dates
Group 1
Date Time Location
Tue 2020-03-03
14.00 - 17.00 ZID Sowi AR 4 ZID Sowi AR 4
Tue 2020-03-10
14.00 - 17.00 ZID Sowi AR 4 ZID Sowi AR 4
Tue 2020-03-17
14.00 - 17.00 ZID Sowi AR 4 ZID Sowi AR 4
Tue 2020-03-24
14.00 - 16.45 SR 7 (Sowi) SR 7 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Tue 2020-03-31
14.00 - 17.00 ZID Sowi AR 4 ZID Sowi AR 4
Tue 2020-04-21
14.00 - 17.00 ZID Sowi AR 4 ZID Sowi AR 4
Tue 2020-04-28
14.00 - 17.00 ZID Sowi AR 4 ZID Sowi AR 4
Tue 2020-05-05
14.00 - 17.00 ZID Sowi AR 4 ZID Sowi AR 4
Tue 2020-05-12
14.00 - 17.00 ZID Sowi AR 4 ZID Sowi AR 4
Tue 2020-05-19
14.00 - 17.00 ZID Sowi AR 4 ZID Sowi AR 4
Tue 2020-05-26
14.00 - 17.00 ZID Sowi AR 4 ZID Sowi AR 4
Tue 2020-06-02
14.00 - 17.00 ZID Sowi AR 4 ZID Sowi AR 4
Tue 2020-06-09
14.00 - 17.00 ZID Sowi AR 4 ZID Sowi AR 4
Tue 2020-06-16
14.00 - 17.00 ZID Sowi AR 4 ZID Sowi AR 4
Tue 2020-06-23
14.00 - 17.00 ZID Sowi AR 4 ZID Sowi AR 4