202924 SE Seminar for Doctoral Students: Digital Edition: Data Querying Tools

summer semester 2020 | Last update: 25.05.2020 Place course on memo list
202924
SE Seminar for Doctoral Students: Digital Edition: Data Querying Tools
SE 2
4
weekly
each semester
German

The students should get familiar with selected methods and tools of data querying within a digital edition. The focus of the lecture will be laid on XML-Technology on the one side (especially X-Path, X-Query and XSLT). And on the other side, students should acquire a firm knowledge on how to use these technologies to implement common features in a digital edition, such as creating a table of contents or creating a co-occurrence map of registry entries.

The students will receive data of a digital edition, provided in XML/TEI format, at the beginning of the course. After introductory notes the students will train their ability of data-querying by trying to solve given tasks. By discussing why a certain query succeeds (or fails), the students will get deeper insight into the technology.
After having mastered the X-technologies, the lecturer will guide the students to combine their skills to implement several features for the digital edition.

Course with exercise.

The following factors will have impact on the final grade: Participation on the course, and the results of the exercises.

Literature will be announced at the beginning of the course.

Basic knowledge of XML and TEI is required.

not applicable

In order to participate in the course, students will need their own notebooks. All applications needed to finish the course are freely available for students of the University of Innsbruck.

03.03.2020
Group 0
Date Time Location
Tue 2020-03-03
18.00 - 19.45 SR I (Theologie) SR I (Theologie) Barrier-free
Tue 2020-03-10
18.00 - 19.45 SR I (Theologie) SR I (Theologie) Barrier-free
Tue 2020-03-17
18.00 - 19.45 SR I (Theologie) SR I (Theologie) Barrier-free
Tue 2020-03-24
18.00 - 19.45 SR I (Theologie) SR I (Theologie) Barrier-free
Tue 2020-03-31
18.00 - 19.45 SR I (Theologie) SR I (Theologie) Barrier-free
Tue 2020-04-21
18.00 - 19.45 SR I (Theologie) SR I (Theologie) Barrier-free
Tue 2020-04-28
18.00 - 19.45 SR I (Theologie) SR I (Theologie) Barrier-free
Tue 2020-05-05
18.00 - 19.45 SR I (Theologie) SR I (Theologie) Barrier-free
Tue 2020-05-12
18.00 - 19.45 SR I (Theologie) SR I (Theologie) Barrier-free
Tue 2020-05-19
18.00 - 19.45 SR I (Theologie) SR I (Theologie) Barrier-free
Tue 2020-05-26
18.00 - 19.45 SR I (Theologie) SR I (Theologie) Barrier-free
Tue 2020-06-02
18.00 - 19.45 SR I (Theologie) SR I (Theologie) Barrier-free
Tue 2020-06-09
18.00 - 19.45 SR I (Theologie) SR I (Theologie) Barrier-free
Tue 2020-06-16
18.00 - 19.45 SR I (Theologie) SR I (Theologie) Barrier-free
Tue 2020-06-23
18.00 - 19.45 SR I (Theologie) SR I (Theologie) Barrier-free