608245 VO History of Modern German Literature

summer semester 2020 | Last update: 14.09.2020 Place course on memo list
608245
VO History of Modern German Literature
VO 2
2,5
weekly
each semester
German

Overview in the history of German literature and culture in modernity; knowledge of important works and authors; skills in epistemic controversies about modernity

Modernity is one of the most important and most productive times in German and, especially Austrian literature. In general, the years between 1880 and 1945 will be focused and some of their most important texts and authors will be discussed, like Thomas Mann, Franz Kafka, or Robert Musil. Beneath that, the lecture will ask in a broader range for the terms of condition of modernity: Which institutions are sustainable? What do we mean when we say »modern«? Since when we are speaking of modernity in our nowadays sense – and how it goes on?

Lecture; maybe excursion to the Brenner-Archiv

written exam

To be announced in the first lesson. Advertised to read: Georg Bollenbeck: Tradition, Avantgarde, Reaktion. Deutsche Kontroversen um die kulturelle Moderne 1880−1945. Frankfurt am Main 1999.

not applicable
see dates
Group 0
Date Time Location
Tue 2020-03-10
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 5¾ Hörsaal 5¾ Induction loops for hearing impaired
Tue 2020-03-17
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 5¾ Hörsaal 5¾ Induction loops for hearing impaired
Tue 2020-03-24
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 5¾ Hörsaal 5¾ Induction loops for hearing impaired
Tue 2020-03-31
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 5¾ Hörsaal 5¾ Induction loops for hearing impaired
Tue 2020-04-21
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 5¾ Hörsaal 5¾ Induction loops for hearing impaired
Tue 2020-04-28
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 5¾ Hörsaal 5¾ Induction loops for hearing impaired
Tue 2020-05-05
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 5¾ Hörsaal 5¾ Induction loops for hearing impaired
Tue 2020-05-12
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 5¾ Hörsaal 5¾ Induction loops for hearing impaired
Tue 2020-05-19
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 5¾ Hörsaal 5¾ Induction loops for hearing impaired
Tue 2020-05-26
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 5¾ Hörsaal 5¾ Induction loops for hearing impaired
Tue 2020-06-02
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 5¾ Hörsaal 5¾ Induction loops for hearing impaired
Tue 2020-06-09
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 5¾ Hörsaal 5¾ Induction loops for hearing impaired
Tue 2020-06-16
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 5¾ Hörsaal 5¾ Induction loops for hearing impaired
Tue 2020-06-23
10.15 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online 1. Prüfungstermin (virtuelle Prüfung)
Thu 2020-10-01
15.30 - 17.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online 2. Prüfungstermin (virtuelle Prüfung)
Fri 2020-11-27
15.30 - 17.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online 3. Prüfungstermin