800611 VO The difficult change in the Arab World- Arab Spring 2?

summer semester 2020 | Last update: 16.06.2020 Place course on memo list
800611
VO The difficult change in the Arab World- Arab Spring 2?
VO 2
5
weekly
every 2nd year
German

The goal of the lecture is, to show the  process of the difficult political change in Tunisia, Egypt, Syria, Jemen and Libya after the first round of the Arab Spring between 2011 and 2012.

 Furthermore, the lecture deal with the new expierence of the current wave of protests in Algier, Sudan, Libanon and Irak to show, which strategies are used by the Elites of those countries to keep on wih their power .

The Arab spring of 2011 and 2012 was a catastrophe for some countries like Libya, Syria and Yemen with a prolongation of a situation similar to civil war, which threaten the national unity of these countries.

In Egypt, the attempt to iniciate a process of political change ended with a takeover of political power by the Egyptian army.

Democratic change is shown to be possible only in the case of Tunisia.

Currently a wave of strong sociopolitical protest rose in some arabic countries like Sudan, Lebanon, Algeria and Iraq. Could this be considered as a second Arab Spring?

not applicable
to be announced
Group 0
Date Time Location
Mon 2020-03-16
12.00 - 13.30 Hörsaal 5 Hörsaal 5 Barrier-free
Mon 2020-03-23
12.00 - 13.30 Hörsaal 5 Hörsaal 5 Barrier-free
Mon 2020-03-30
12.00 - 13.30 Hörsaal 5 Hörsaal 5 Barrier-free
Mon 2020-04-20
12.00 - 13.30 Hörsaal 5 Hörsaal 5 Barrier-free
Mon 2020-04-27
12.00 - 13.30 Hörsaal 5 Hörsaal 5 Barrier-free
Mon 2020-05-04
12.00 - 13.30 Hörsaal 5 Hörsaal 5 Barrier-free
Mon 2020-05-11
12.00 - 13.30 Hörsaal 5 Hörsaal 5 Barrier-free
Mon 2020-05-18
12.00 - 13.30 Hörsaal 5 Hörsaal 5 Barrier-free
Mon 2020-05-25
12.00 - 13.30 Hörsaal 5 Hörsaal 5 Barrier-free
Mon 2020-06-08
12.00 - 13.30 Hörsaal 5 Hörsaal 5 Barrier-free
Mon 2020-06-15
12.00 - 13.30 Hörsaal 5 Hörsaal 5 Barrier-free Präsenzprüfung
Mon 2020-06-22
12.00 - 13.30 Hörsaal 5 Hörsaal 5 Barrier-free Präsenzprüfung
Mon 2020-06-29
13.00 - 14.30 Hörsaal 5 Hörsaal 5 Barrier-free Präsenzprüfung
Mon 2020-07-06
12.00 - 13.30 Hörsaal 5 Hörsaal 5 Barrier-free Präsenzprüfung