404012 PS Economics of the Public Sector

winter semester 2020/2021 | Last update: 28.08.2020 Place course on memo list
404012
PS Economics of the Public Sector
PS 2
3
Admission requirements: positive completion of the mandatory courses "Introduction to Management" referred to in § 5 (1-1) and "Introduction to Economics" referred to in § 5 (1-2) It is advantageous to have completed the module “Theory of Economic Decisions: Decisions and Strategies”.
weekly
each semester
German

The course provides an introduction to Public Economics. At the end of the course students will be able to answer the following questions: When should the government intervene in the economy? Which instruments does the government use for intervention? How does government intervention affect the decisions of market participants and market outcomes?

Reasons for government intervention: market failure; Reasons for government intervention: redistribution; Government intervention: taxation

Lecture and accompanying tutorial sessions (proseminars). In the lecture basic concepts of Public Economics are presented. In the proseminars these concepts are used to discuss and solve short case studies. In the proseminars, a term paper will have to be written in groups of students.

final exam

Gruber, Jonathan, Public Finance and Public Policy, 6th ed., New York: Worth Publishers, Macmillan Learning, 2019.

Admission requirements: positive completion of the mandatory courses "Introduction to Management"referred to in § 5 (1-1) and "Introduction to Economics" referred to in § 5 (1-2)

not applicable
see dates
Group 0
Date Time Location
Tue 2020-10-06
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-10-13
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-10-20
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-10-27
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-11-03
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-11-10
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-11-17
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-11-24
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-12-01
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-12-15
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-01-12
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-01-19
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-01-26
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online