605117 UE Greek Reading I (Prose)

winter semester 2020/2021 | Last update: 24.08.2020 Place course on memo list
605117
UE Greek Reading I (Prose)
UE 2
5
weekly
each semester
German

Expansion and consolidation of the knowledge of the Greek prose literature. Consolidation of language competence and translation skills.

Translation of passages from Greek prose works chosen from the reading list.

Oral and written translation of selected passages from the reading list, joint drafting of a study commentary for preparation, joint repetition of selected chapters of the theory of forms and syntax

Combined (cooperation and translation exams)

Will be announced in the course.

We'll start with Xenophon's "Anabasis". For voluntary preparation over the summer, it is recommended to work through at least book 1 thoroughly in self-study (i.e. to translate independently and to find unclear passages with the help of dictionaries, grammars, commentaries and, if necessary, translations).

For the Anabasis there is the great scientific commentary by Otto Lendle (Darmstadt 1995); for your purposes, however, the notes in older school editions will usually suffice (from the time when whole books were read in Greek lessons, online e.g. at https://archive.org/details/anabasisfrdensc00xenogoog/page/n63/mode/2up).

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

13.10.2020
Group 0
Date Time Location
Tue 2020-10-13
13.00 - 14.30 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-10-20
13.00 - 14.30 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-10-27
13.00 - 14.30 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-11-03
13.00 - 14.30 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-11-10
13.00 - 14.30 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-11-17
13.00 - 14.30 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-11-24
13.00 - 14.30 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-12-01
13.00 - 14.30 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-12-15
13.00 - 14.30 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-01-12
13.00 - 14.30 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-01-19
13.00 - 14.30 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-01-26
13.00 - 14.30 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-02-02
13.00 - 14.30 eLecture - online eLecture - online