609661 UE Communication Skills

winter semester 2020/2021 | Last update: 23.11.2020 Place course on memo list
609661
UE Communication Skills
UE 2
2,5
weekly
each semester
English

In this course, we will consider how oral language is used to communicate and how we make conscious choices regarding both lexis and grammar when making and communicating meaning. Through a broad range of topics, we will explore how language functions in a variety of contexts. In addition to the examination of speaking and listening skills at a mastery level (CEFR C2), we will also focus on effective verbal communication and you will have the opportunity to hone your oral communication skills in different situations and for different social purposes. 


  • speaking, listening and what makes a good speaker
  • the language of presentations, speaking in public, reading aloud
  • pronunciation, intonation and stress patterns (individual sounds and sentence stress)
  • developing awareness of register and tone, effective oral communication
  • listening comprehension and interpretation 
  • allusion, humour, persuasive language
  • effective discussions, reactions & debates
  • CEFR C2 speaking and listening skills

Continuous assessment

20% active course participation

40% presentation/speech

40% speaking test

none

none

05.10.2020
Group 0
Date Time Location
Mon 2020-10-05
10.15 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Mon 2020-10-12
10.15 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Mon 2020-10-19
10.15 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Mon 2020-11-09
10.15 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Mon 2020-11-16
10.15 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Mon 2020-11-23
10.15 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Mon 2020-11-30
10.15 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Mon 2020-12-07
10.15 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Mon 2020-12-14
10.15 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Mon 2021-01-11
10.15 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Mon 2021-01-18
10.15 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Mon 2021-01-25
10.15 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Mon 2021-02-01
10.15 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online