609672 SE English Linguistics: Language Planning in English-speaking Contexts

winter semester 2020/2021 | Last update: 23.04.2021 Place course on memo list
609672
SE English Linguistics: Language Planning in English-speaking Contexts
SE 2
5
weekly
each semester
English

This seminar will bring participants to develop an awareness of the role of language planning in the present spread of English; this will lead  to reflections on the different ways in which communities have accommodated English as an additional language as part of their sociolinguistic profile and repertoire, in the educational system, in the media, etc.

Apart from reviewing some aspects of language planning and of language policies in general, participants will be required to investigate specific situations related to individual countries or areas in which the presence of English has been the object of debate in relation to language policy and language planning issues.

Guided revision of theories, group readings, presentation of research progress, discussion on individual samples.

Students are required to attend regularly; presence at the first session, in particular, is mandatory. Other requirements for positive assessment are: language proficiency adequate to the 2nd Abschnitt level, active participation in discussions, regular reporting on research progress, a 20-min presentation (with handout) and a written research paper (stylesheet for linguistics available on Institute’s website).

positice completion of mandatory modules 5, 6 + 7 or 8

not applicable
05.10.2020
Group 0
Date Time Location
Mon 2020-10-05
15.30 - 17.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Mon 2020-10-12
15.30 - 17.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Mon 2020-10-19
15.30 - 17.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Mon 2020-11-09
15.30 - 17.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Mon 2020-11-16
15.30 - 17.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Mon 2020-11-23
15.30 - 17.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Mon 2020-11-30
15.30 - 17.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Mon 2020-12-07
15.30 - 17.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Mon 2020-12-14
15.30 - 17.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Mon 2021-01-11
15.30 - 17.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Mon 2021-01-18
15.30 - 17.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Mon 2021-01-25
15.30 - 17.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Mon 2021-02-01
15.30 - 17.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online