609686 VO British and/or Postcolonial Literature and Culture: Fiction

winter semester 2020/2021 | Last update: 10.12.2020 Place course on memo list
609686
VO British and/or Postcolonial Literature and Culture: Fiction
VO 2
7,5
weekly
each semester
English

Students will learn to...

  • familiarise themselves with the development of Anglophone literature over time, with a special focus on fiction;
  • practise and master forms of literary analysis with a special focus on fiction;
  • place and interpret a text in its historical context;

 

In the course of the semester we will trace the development of prose fiction in English literature from Thomas More’s Utopia to contemporary 21st century literature. We will be looking at the evolution of the genre from early travel writing and the onset of the novel, to its expansion in the 19th century as well as 20th and 21st century innovations with regard to fiction writing. In so doing, we will continuously place literary developments in their historical context to also shed light on the time, topic and literary expression.

  • Input Lectures
  • Self-study
  • Reading Assignments

 

  • Written exam about content of lecture
  • Oral reading list exam

 

  • to be announced

positive completion of compulsory module 10

 

23.10.2020
Group 0
Date Time Location
Fri 2020-10-23
08.30 - 10.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Fri 2020-10-30
08.30 - 10.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Fri 2020-11-06
08.30 - 10.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Fri 2020-11-13
08.30 - 10.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Fri 2020-11-20
08.30 - 10.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Fri 2020-11-27
08.30 - 10.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Fri 2020-12-04
08.30 - 10.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Fri 2020-12-11
08.30 - 10.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Fri 2020-12-18
08.30 - 10.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Fri 2021-01-08
08.30 - 10.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Fri 2021-01-15
08.30 - 10.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Fri 2021-01-22
08.30 - 10.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Fri 2021-01-29
08.30 - 10.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Group Booking period Date of exam
609686-0 2021-03-23 15:00 - 2021-05-13 12:00
2021-05-14
9:00-10:30
online/OLAT
Ratheiser U.