609693 VU Introduction to British and Anglophone Cultures A

winter semester 2020/2021 | Last update: 22.09.2020 Place course on memo list
609693
VU Introduction to British and Anglophone Cultures A
VU 2
2,5
weekly
each semester
English

To achieve a basis in the theory of Cultural Studies and acquire an overview of British culture.

Topics, amongst others are: definitions of ‘Culture/ culture’ and concepts and theories of ‘Cultural Studies’; Identity and difference; semiotics and representation; nationality, history, and politics: cultural analyses of space; negotiations of cultural values; selfhood and society. This term, a particular focus will be on popular culture.

Presentations - including contemporary sources (DVDs, Internet, Youtube etc.), in-class discussions to heighten cultural awareness and critical thinking. Attendance at first session is obligatory.

Final exam, regular written assignments (dossier) and tasks and class participation.

Will be announced in our first session.

none

Students are recommended not to take this course in the first semester.

 

 

not applicable
08.10.2020
Group 0
Date Time Location
Thu 2020-10-08
15.30 - 17.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2020-10-15
15.30 - 17.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2020-10-22
15.30 - 17.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2020-10-29
15.30 - 17.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2020-11-05
15.30 - 17.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2020-11-12
15.30 - 17.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2020-11-19
15.30 - 17.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2020-11-26
15.30 - 17.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2020-12-03
15.30 - 17.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2020-12-10
15.30 - 17.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2020-12-17
15.30 - 17.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2021-01-07
15.30 - 17.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2021-01-14
15.30 - 17.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2021-01-21
15.30 - 17.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2021-01-28
15.30 - 17.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online