640052 VU Subject-Specific Specialisation: Ancient Historiography: The Beginnings of Rome after T. Livius: About Aeneas, Romulus and the Gauls in Rome

winter semester 2020/2021 | Last update: 07.12.2020 Place course on memo list
640052
VU Subject-Specific Specialisation: Ancient Historiography: The Beginnings of Rome after T. Livius: About Aeneas, Romulus and the Gauls in Rome
VU 2
2,5
weekly
annually
German

The acquisition of skills in dealing with the main themes and features of ancient historiography as well as the acquisition of skills in dealing with ancient sources and
research literature.

Livy gives us back the most comprehensive, preserved account of the early days of Rome: He tells us about the legendary arrival of the Trojan Aeneas in Italy, the legendary foundation of Rome, the rape of the Sabine women, the seven kings of Rome, the transition to the republic up to the invasion of the Gauls in Rome. Vividly he passes on the image that the Romans had of their past at the end of the first century BC. We follow his narratives about the beginnings of Roman history and subject selected episodes to an historical-critical analysis.

Lecture, guided reading, discussion.

Participation in class, presentation.

06.10.2020
Group 0
Date Time Location
Tue 2020-10-06
13.30 - 15.00 Atrium - SR 4 Atrium - SR 4 Barrier-free Präsenztermin
Tue 2020-10-13
13.30 - 15.00 Atrium - SR 4 Atrium - SR 4 Barrier-free Präsenztermin
Tue 2020-10-20
13.30 - 15.00 Atrium - SR 4 Atrium - SR 4 Barrier-free Präsenztermin
Tue 2020-10-27
13.30 - 15.00 Atrium - SR 4 Atrium - SR 4 Barrier-free Präsenztermin
Tue 2020-11-03
13.30 - 15.00 Atrium - SR 4 Atrium - SR 4 Barrier-free Präsenztermin
Tue 2020-11-10
13.30 - 15.00 Atrium - SR 4 Atrium - SR 4 Barrier-free Präsenztermin
Tue 2020-11-17
13.30 - 15.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-11-24
13.30 - 15.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-12-01
13.30 - 15.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-12-15
13.30 - 15.00 online (Alte Geschichte und Altorientalistik) online (Alte Geschichte und Altorientalistik)
Tue 2021-01-12
13.30 - 15.00 online (Alte Geschichte und Altorientalistik) online (Alte Geschichte und Altorientalistik)
Tue 2021-01-19
13.30 - 15.00 online (Alte Geschichte und Altorientalistik) online (Alte Geschichte und Altorientalistik)
Tue 2021-01-26
13.30 - 15.00 online (Alte Geschichte und Altorientalistik) online (Alte Geschichte und Altorientalistik)
Tue 2021-02-02
13.30 - 15.00 online (Alte Geschichte und Altorientalistik) online (Alte Geschichte und Altorientalistik)