702733 SE Research Seminar: Functional Analysis - Current Research WS 2020/2021

winter semester 2020/2021 | Last update: 03.09.2020 Place course on memo list
702733
SE Research Seminar: Functional Analysis - Current Research WS 2020/2021
SE 2
5
weekly
each semester
English

On completion of this couse, students have acquired a deep knowledge of functional analysis by autonomous studies. Moreover they are familiar with relevant mathematical literature and can judge its mathematical content. They are able to examine problems of functional analysis in a creative and methodically correct manner and to present the result of those examinations in written form and orally as to be understood well by experts.

This research seminar offers the opportunity to present one's own research 
results, or explore and present a current topic of functional analysis.

This semester we will concentrate on asymptotic methods.  We will study selected chapters of  the book Asymptotia by  Joel Spencer. It is available electronically in the university library. Here are two quotations from the book. 

p. 130: Seemingly intractible calculations can be approached asymptotically by giving ground. The art lies in finding the right way to give ground so that the problem is now tractible and not too much ground has been given.

back cover: Asymptotics in one form or another are part of the landscape of every mathematician. The objective of this book is to present the ideas of how approach asymptotic problems that arise in discrete mathematics, analysis of algorithms and number theory ....distribution of prime numbers, random graphs, asymptotic geometry ...


 

 

 

Continuous assessment (based on regular written and oral contributions by the participants).

Joel Spencer:  Asymptotia

(pdf of the book is available in our library)

see dates
Group 0
Date Time Location
Tue 2020-10-06
16.15 - 18.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-10-13
16.15 - 18.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-10-20
16.15 - 18.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-10-27
16.15 - 18.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-11-03
16.15 - 18.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-11-10
16.15 - 18.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-11-17
16.15 - 18.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-11-24
16.15 - 18.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-12-01
16.15 - 18.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-12-15
16.15 - 18.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-01-12
16.15 - 18.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-01-19
16.15 - 18.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-01-26
16.15 - 18.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-02-02
16.15 - 18.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online