850153 VO Information Theory

winter semester 2020/2021 | Last update: 17.08.2020 Place course on memo list
850153
VO Information Theory
VO 2
2,5
weekly
annually
German

Students are able to understand "information" as a measurable quantity. They get an introduction into coding theory, know about the absolute theoretical limits of information transmission, and get a survey over practically relevant concepts for information transmission. Students are familiar with the number theoretical fundamentals of Public-Key systems.

Fundamentals of information theory according to Shannon; Entropy; Channel capacity; Mutual information analysis; Huffman Coding; Cyclic codes; Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC); Galois fields; Fundamentals of cryptography; trapdoor functions; Public-Key-systems (knapsack systems, RSA).  

Lecture, assessment is based on a single examination at the end of the course.

Written examination

Will be discussed in the first lesson.

none

not applicable
to be agreed on
Group 0
Date Time Location
Tue 2020-10-06
12.00 - 13.30 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-10-13
12.00 - 13.30 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-10-20
12.00 - 13.30 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-10-27
12.00 - 13.30 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-11-03
12.00 - 13.30 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-11-10
12.00 - 13.30 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-11-17
12.00 - 13.30 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-11-24
12.00 - 13.30 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-12-01
12.00 - 13.30 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2020-12-15
12.00 - 13.30 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-01-12
12.00 - 13.30 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-01-19
12.00 - 13.30 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-01-26
12.00 - 13.30 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Group Booking period Date of exam
850153-0 2020-12-28 00:00 - 2021-01-18 23:59
2021-01-25
12:00 - 13:30 Uhr
HSB 3
Zierhofer C.