202100 VO Fundamental Questions in Epistemology: Advanced Level: Knowledge and Power

summer semester 2021 | Last update: 21.04.2021 Place course on memo list
202100
VO Fundamental Questions in Epistemology: Advanced Level: Knowledge and Power
VO 2
4
weekly
annually
German

- familiarity with the effects of social power relations on our knowledge, as individuals and as a society
- competence in critical yet creative thinking

Many argue that scientific (as well as other forms of) knowledge can be had independently of political and moral factors. Others argue, in contrast, that all of our epistemic practices are subject to social or political influence. In this class we will navigate these two poles. We will explore to what extent our epistemic practices are influenced by political and social structures, and to what extent such influences are morally and epistemically problematic.

Readings and discussion.

Short essays in the course of the semester.

General information on exams, dates and sign-on at the department:
https://www.uibk.ac.at/philtheol/pruefungen/index.html.de.

Will be uploaded to OLAT.

None.

not applicable
02.03.2021
Group 0
Date Time Location
Tue 2021-03-02
14.00 - 15.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-03-09
14.00 - 15.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-03-16
14.00 - 15.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-03-23
14.00 - 15.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-04-13
14.00 - 15.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-04-20
14.00 - 15.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-04-27
CANCELED
14.00 - 15.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-05-04
14.00 - 15.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-05-11
14.00 - 15.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-05-18
14.00 - 15.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-05-25
14.00 - 15.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-06-01
14.00 - 15.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-06-08
14.00 - 15.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-06-15
14.00 - 15.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-06-22
14.00 - 15.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online