202515 Theoretical Philosophy - Special Issues II: Popper's Philosophy of Nature and Science

summer semester 2021 | Last update: 19.03.2021 Place course on memo list
202515
Theoretical Philosophy - Special Issues II: Popper's Philosophy of Nature and Science
VU 2
3,5
weekly
every 2nd year
German

The students are going to be acquainted with problems and theories of philosophy of nature. They will learn to understand and critically evaluate arguments in this field. First of all, they will get to know Popper’s philosophy of nature and science.

What are the basic structures of the natural world? What is the difference between nature and culture? What is the relationship between philosophy and science? In what way does science methodologically proceed? We are going to address these and similar questions within the context of Karl Popper’s philosophy of nature and science. Popper’s “Critical Rationalism” is one of the most important and interesting approaches in contemporary philosophy.

Short lectures, readings and discussion of texts.

Active participation, term papers.

General information on exams, dates and sign-on at the department:
https://www.uibk.ac.at/philtheol/pruefungen/index.html.de.

Will be discussed during the preparatory meeting.

None.

04.03.2021
Group 0
Date Time Location
Thu 2021-03-04
16.00 - 17.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2021-03-11
16.00 - 17.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2021-03-18
16.00 - 17.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2021-03-25
16.00 - 17.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2021-04-15
16.00 - 18.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2021-04-22
16.00 - 18.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2021-04-29
16.00 - 18.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2021-05-06
16.00 - 18.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2021-05-20
16.00 - 18.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2021-05-27
16.00 - 18.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2021-06-10
16.00 - 18.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2021-06-17
16.00 - 18.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2021-06-24
16.00 - 18.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online