222914 SE Seminar for Doctoral Students: The Significance of Mimetic Theory for the Understanding of Religion

summer semester 2021 | Last update: 30.03.2021 Place course on memo list
222914
SE Seminar for Doctoral Students: The Significance of Mimetic Theory for the Understanding of Religion
SE 2
4
weekly
annually
English

Getting acquainted with important contributions to the understanding of religion by out-standing scholars of Mimetic Theory.

The French-American scholar of culture René Girard’s Mimetic Theory purports to enlighten about and interpret religion – its genesis, significance and meaning. In the seminar I want to critically read, discus and analyze important contributions.

Discussion und Reflection Papers.

Discussion and refelction papers or discussion and seminar thesis.

General information on exams, dates and sign-on at the department:
https://www.uibk.ac.at/systheol/lehre/pruefungen.html.en.

Selected chapters from: Alison, James, and Palaver, Wolfgang, eds, 2017. The Palgrave Handbook of Mimetic Theory and Religion. New York: Palgrave Macmillan.
Further literature will be provided in the course.

none

not applicable
02.03.2021
Group 0
Date Time Location
Tue 2021-03-02
17.30 - 19.30 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-03-16
17.00 - 19.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-03-23
17.00 - 19.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-04-13
17.00 - 19.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-04-20
17.00 - 19.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-05-04
17.00 - 19.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-05-11
17.00 - 19.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-05-18
17.00 - 19.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-06-01
17.00 - 19.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-06-08
17.00 - 19.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-06-15
17.00 - 19.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-06-22
17.00 - 19.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online