402526 SE European Integration II: Multi-Level Governance and European Democratic Society

summer semester 2021 | Last update: 01.04.2021 Place course on memo list
402526
SE European Integration II: Multi-Level Governance and European Democratic Society
SE 2
4
weekly
annually
English

Students are able to reconstruct the embedding of EU bodies, member states, and nongovernmental

organizations in the multilevel system of the EU. They can describe and explain

the complex interactions, interdependencies and cooperative efforts of institutions and

processes. Students are able to analyze issues concerning the democratic legitimacy of European

government.

Governance and European Democratic Society

National constitutions and European integration are characterised by long-term tensions between different sources of legitimacy. The objective of the seminar is to present the historical evolution of European integration and to convey a proper understanding of the normative constraints for the development of a Europe-wide democratic system. The focus will be on legislative acts of constitutional importance, such as the European Electoral Act, the creation of a system of European Political Parties, the inter-institutional equilibrium or the regulation of Europe-wide interest representation. Students should acquire the capacity to apply theoretical and practical principles, such as multi-level governance or subsidiarity checks, to new questions of European integration.

Case studies; document analysis

Written examination

EU legal acts and other official agreements; textbook chapters; selected historical, legal and political science articles.

none

see dates
Group 0
Date Time Location
Tue 2021-03-09
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-03-16
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-03-23
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-04-13
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-04-20
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-04-27
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-05-04
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-05-11
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-05-18
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-05-25
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-06-01
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-06-08
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-06-15
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-06-22
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online