602012 VO Aesthetics and Philosophy of Art: Aspects of Aesthetics: Philosophical Reflections

summer semester 2021 | Last update: 29.11.2020 Place course on memo list
602012
VO Aesthetics and Philosophy of Art: Aspects of Aesthetics: Philosophical Reflections
VO 2
5
weekly
every 2nd year
German

Characterization of aesthetics as reflection of perception (of art) in the context of relevant philosophical texts; sensibility for discussions of aesthetics in consideration of selected case studies from different areas of art; comprehension of the plurality of aesthetics on the threshold of art, philosophy and politics.

As Jacques Rancière argues in the introduction to his book Aesthetics and its Discontents, "'aesthetics' is not the name of a discipline. It is the name for a specific regime for the identification of art." (Rancière 2009: 8) In other words, questions of aesthetics are in one way or another questions of aísthēsis, that is: questions of perception of art as art. Apart from the question how art is being perceived, aesthetics concerns also the question what is perceived as art, what counts in aesthetic terms and what does not, but also if art can be perceived otherwise. These and further questions will be posed in the lecture while theoretical arguments and illustrative materials shall be practically connected, i.e. questions of aesthetics shall be contoured in consideration of exemplary case studies.

Media-supported lecture units followed by discussions.

Written.

Will be announced in each lecture unit.

02.03.2021
Group 0
Date Time Location
Tue 2021-03-02
10.15 - 11.45 online (Philosophie) online (Philosophie)
Tue 2021-03-09
10.15 - 11.45 online (Philosophie) online (Philosophie)
Tue 2021-03-16
10.15 - 11.45 online (Philosophie) online (Philosophie)
Tue 2021-03-23
10.15 - 11.45 online (Philosophie) online (Philosophie)
Tue 2021-04-13
10.15 - 11.45 online (Philosophie) online (Philosophie)
Tue 2021-04-20
10.15 - 11.45 online (Philosophie) online (Philosophie)
Tue 2021-04-27
10.15 - 11.45 online (Philosophie) online (Philosophie)
Tue 2021-05-04
10.15 - 11.45 online (Philosophie) online (Philosophie)
Tue 2021-05-11
10.15 - 11.45 online (Philosophie) online (Philosophie)
Tue 2021-05-18
10.15 - 11.45 online (Philosophie) online (Philosophie)
Tue 2021-05-25
10.15 - 11.45 online (Philosophie) online (Philosophie)
Tue 2021-06-01
10.15 - 11.45 online (Philosophie) online (Philosophie)
Tue 2021-06-08
10.15 - 11.45 online (Philosophie) online (Philosophie)
Tue 2021-06-15
10.15 - 11.45 online (Philosophie) online (Philosophie)
Tue 2021-06-22
10.15 - 11.45 online (Philosophie) online (Philosophie)