609874 PS Systemic and/or Applied English Linguistics: Corpora and Cultural Cognition

summer semester 2021 | Last update: 03.03.2021 Place course on memo list
609874
PS Systemic and/or Applied English Linguistics: Corpora and Cultural Cognition
PS 2
5
weekly
each semester
English

Participants will gain an interdisciplinary understanding of the relationship between language and cultural cognition and how the use of corpora contributes to this understanding. 

This course aims at exploring the relationship between language and cultural cognition with the use of corpora. This relationship is rooted in the assumption that cultural cognition is instantiated through the use of language. Therefore, we will be taking a closer look at the analytical tools developed within the framework of Cultural Linguistics such as cultural categories, cultural schemas, and cultural metaphors.  

 

 

 

Introductory inputs on the theories and methods, discussion of reading assignments, group works, and oral presentations.

Compulsory attendance to the first session, regular attendance, participation in class discussions and group works, oral presentation, and seminar paper.

Sharifian, Farzad.(2011). Cultural conceptualizations and language: theoretical framework and applications. Amsterdam/Philadelphia: John Benjamins.

Sharifian, Farzad (Ed.). (2017). Advances in Cultural Linguistics. Singapore: Springer. 

Sharifian, Farzad. (2017). Cultural Linguistics: Cultural conceptualizations and language. Amsterdam/Philadelphia: John Benjamins. 

positive completion of mandatory module 10

not applicable

 

 

see dates
Group 0
Date Time Location
Mon 2021-03-01
13.45 - 15.15 online (Anglistik) online (Anglistik)
Mon 2021-03-08
13.45 - 15.15 online (Anglistik) online (Anglistik)
Mon 2021-03-15
13.45 - 15.15 online (Anglistik) online (Anglistik)
Mon 2021-03-22
13.45 - 15.15 online (Anglistik) online (Anglistik)
Mon 2021-04-12
13.45 - 15.15 online (Anglistik) online (Anglistik)
Mon 2021-04-19
13.45 - 15.15 online (Anglistik) online (Anglistik)
Mon 2021-04-26
13.45 - 15.15 online (Anglistik) online (Anglistik)
Mon 2021-05-03
13.45 - 15.15 online (Anglistik) online (Anglistik)
Mon 2021-05-10
13.45 - 15.15 online (Anglistik) online (Anglistik)
Mon 2021-05-17
13.45 - 15.15 online (Anglistik) online (Anglistik)
Mon 2021-05-31
13.45 - 15.15 online (Anglistik) online (Anglistik)
Mon 2021-06-07
13.45 - 15.15 online (Anglistik) online (Anglistik)
Mon 2021-06-14
13.45 - 15.15 online (Anglistik) online (Anglistik)
Mon 2021-06-21
13.45 - 15.15 online (Anglistik) online (Anglistik)