705824 VU Advanced Theoretical Physics: Condensed matter theory

summer semester 2021 | Last update: 09.05.2021 Place course on memo list
705824
VU Advanced Theoretical Physics: Condensed matter theory
VU 3
5
weekly
annually
English

Deepen the understanding of modern topics of theoretical condensed matter and many-body physics.

(1) Introduction to field-theory methods for many-body physics, with a strong focus on applications relevant to condensed matter physics.
(2) Topology in many-body systems: symmetry protected topological phases and spin liquids.

Lecture, assessment is based on a single examination at the end of the course.

Course examination according to § 7, statute section on "study-law regulations"

Will be discussed in the first lecture and listed in OLAT.

While the content of the lecture "Condensed Matter Theory" (taught in the winter semester) is expected to be useful, it is not a prerequisit. The lecture will be designed to be accessible to students that have not attended that lecture.

Students should be familiar with the basics of quantum mechanics, including second quantization.

  • Weekly live lectures via video conference, which will be recorded and made available on OLAT.
  • To allow as many students as possible to participate in the live lectures, a survey will be set up to check everyone's availability and the time of the weekly lecture will adjusted accordingly.
  • Depending upon the students' wishes and needs, the lecture will either be in English or German.
to be announced
Group 1
Date Time Location
Tue 2021-03-02
09.00 - 12.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-03-09
09.00 - 12.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-03-16
09.00 - 12.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-03-23
09.00 - 12.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-04-13
09.00 - 12.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-04-20
09.00 - 12.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-04-27
09.00 - 12.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-05-04
09.00 - 12.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-05-11
09.00 - 12.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-05-18
09.00 - 12.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-05-25
09.00 - 12.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-06-01
09.00 - 12.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-06-08
09.00 - 12.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-06-15
09.00 - 12.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Tue 2021-06-22
09.00 - 12.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online