402030 VO Political Theories and Political Thinking

winter semester 2021/2022 | Last update: 01.10.2021 Place course on memo list
Dr. Jodok Troy Dr. Jodok Troy, +43 512 507 70123
402030
VO Political Theories and Political Thinking
VO 2
5
weekly
annually
German

BA Politikwissenschaft § 5 (1) 4.a Political Theories and Political Thinking

Students acquire the ability to classify and explain the development of political thinking in the course of the centuries. They know how to present different definitions of rule and describe different theories of state as well as different theories of democracy.

This lecture has three goals: First, providing an introduction into the main themes and problems as well as texts of political theory. Second, the lecture discusses the answers of these main themes and topics as to persisting political problems and questions. Third, the former two goals help to illustrate what current political science can gain from those lasting insights but also what questions of political theory can gain from a political science perspective.

Lecture and discussion

written exam

Münkler, Herfried, Grit Straßenberger, Vincent Rzepka, and Felix Wassermann. Politische Theorie und Ideengeschichte: Eine Einführung. München: C.H. Beck, 2016.
Marcus Llanque, Geschichte der politischen Ideen: Von der Antike bis zur Gegenwart (München: Verlag C.H. Beck, 2016).

none

see dates
Group 0
Date Time Location
Mon 2021-10-11
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Mon 2021-10-18
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Mon 2021-10-25
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Mon 2021-11-08
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Mon 2021-11-15
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Mon 2021-11-22
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Mon 2021-11-29
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Mon 2021-12-06
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Mon 2021-12-13
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Mon 2022-01-10
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Mon 2022-01-17
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Mon 2022-01-24
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Mon 2022-01-31
10.00 - 11.45 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Group Booking period Date of exam
402030-0 2022-09-01 08:00 - 2022-09-30 23:59
2022-10-03
10:00 Uhr
virtuell via OLAT Kurs
Note:
Klausur (Antritt III) Achtung die Klausur findet virtuell via OLAT Kurs statt!!
Troy J.