602033 VO Intercultural Philosophy: Philosophies of a globalizing world

winter semester 2021/2022 | Last update: 12.10.2021 Place course on memo list
602033
VO Intercultural Philosophy: Philosophies of a globalizing world
VO 2
5
weekly
annually
English

Illustration of the history of philosophical thought as an (ambivalent) part of the process of globalization; discussion of relevant discourses on globalization (Postcolonial Studies; Black Theory; Critical Ecology, etc.); reflection on philosophical controversies on globalization.

The process of globalization has been - at least since the realization that the planet Earth is spherical and the (re)discovery of the Americas - a crucial but often misunderstood moment in the history of philosophical thought. This lecture addresses philosophies of an (unequally) globalizing world by (a) exemplifying how philosophical thought has become "globalized" since modernity, for instance by repeatedly justifying (and, more rarely, criticizing) imperialism and colonialism as well as enslavement, (b) by showing the contribution of Postcolonial Studies, Black Theory, and Critical Ecology to a "decolonization" of (philosophical) thought, and (c) by reflecting on what controversial philosophical notions of globalization currently exist.

Media-supported online lectures with discussions.

Written.

Wird in den jeweiligen Vorlesungseinheiten bekanntgegeben.

None.

This lecture will be held in English.

05.10.2021
Group 0
Date Time Location
Tue 2021-10-05
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 2 Hörsaal 2 Barrier-free
Tue 2021-10-12
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 2 Hörsaal 2 Barrier-free ENTFÄLLT
Tue 2021-10-19
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 2 Hörsaal 2 Barrier-free
Tue 2021-11-09
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 2 Hörsaal 2 Barrier-free
Tue 2021-11-16
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 2 Hörsaal 2 Barrier-free
Tue 2021-11-23
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 2 Hörsaal 2 Barrier-free
Tue 2021-11-30
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 2 Hörsaal 2 Barrier-free
Tue 2021-12-07
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 2 Hörsaal 2 Barrier-free
Tue 2021-12-14
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 5¾ Hörsaal 5¾ Induction loops for hearing impaired
Tue 2022-01-11
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 2 Hörsaal 2 Barrier-free
Tue 2022-01-18
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 2 Hörsaal 2 Barrier-free
Tue 2022-01-25
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 2 Hörsaal 2 Barrier-free
Tue 2022-02-01
10.15 - 11.45 Hörsaal 2 Hörsaal 2 Barrier-free
Group Booking period
602033-0 2021-09-01 00:00 - 2022-02-03 23:59 Book course
Oberprantacher A.