608258 SE Contemporary German Literature: Critical Assessment of Sources in Literary Scholarship

winter semester 2021/2022 | Last update: 03.05.2022 Place course on memo list
608258
SE Contemporary German Literature: Critical Assessment of Sources in Literary Scholarship
SE 2
5
weekly
each semester
German

Ability to describe and critically reflect the state of research related to a specific topic; proficiency in applying this knowledge to a concrete scholarly question; experience in analysing various texts and discussing them from different theoretical perspectives; ability to compile a convincing and academically sound presentation of results in a seminar paper.

The scholarly dealing with (historical) sources is a basic skill of historiographic scholarship. But, scholarly source criticism is also relevant for literary scholarship, especially when working with archival materials in any literary archive. Where is the source from? When was it produced? Who did it, for whom, and to what end? To find answers to these questions often requires skills of detection, commonsense and knowledge of literary history. The answers will lead us to new interpretations of the sources  - and often to new perspecitves on history of literature itself.
With the archival materials held at the Research Brenner-Archives we practise different forms of literary source criticism.
This is a hands-on course!

Introduction by the teacher, textual analysis, research in the archives, presentations, classroom discussions, group reading

presentations, scholarly knowledge, participation, term paper

Will be announced in the first session.

Cf. Curriculum

none

see dates
Group 0
Date Time Location
Thu 2021-10-07
15.30 - 17.00 SR Josef-Hirn-Straße SR Josef-Hirn-Straße Barrier-free
Thu 2021-10-14
15.30 - 17.00 SR Josef-Hirn-Straße SR Josef-Hirn-Straße Barrier-free
Thu 2021-10-21
15.30 - 17.00 SR Josef-Hirn-Straße SR Josef-Hirn-Straße Barrier-free
Thu 2021-10-28
15.30 - 17.00 SR Josef-Hirn-Straße SR Josef-Hirn-Straße Barrier-free
Thu 2021-11-04
15.30 - 17.00 SR Josef-Hirn-Straße SR Josef-Hirn-Straße Barrier-free
Thu 2021-11-11
15.30 - 17.00 SR Josef-Hirn-Straße SR Josef-Hirn-Straße Barrier-free
Thu 2021-11-18
15.30 - 17.00 SR Josef-Hirn-Straße SR Josef-Hirn-Straße Barrier-free
Thu 2021-11-25
15.30 - 17.00 SR Josef-Hirn-Straße SR Josef-Hirn-Straße Barrier-free
Thu 2021-12-02
15.30 - 17.00 SR Josef-Hirn-Straße SR Josef-Hirn-Straße Barrier-free
Thu 2021-12-09
15.30 - 17.00 SR Josef-Hirn-Straße SR Josef-Hirn-Straße Barrier-free
Thu 2021-12-16
15.30 - 17.00 SR Josef-Hirn-Straße SR Josef-Hirn-Straße Barrier-free
Thu 2022-01-13
15.30 - 17.00 SR Josef-Hirn-Straße SR Josef-Hirn-Straße Barrier-free
Thu 2022-01-20
15.30 - 17.00 SR Josef-Hirn-Straße SR Josef-Hirn-Straße Barrier-free
Thu 2022-01-27
15.30 - 17.00 SR Josef-Hirn-Straße SR Josef-Hirn-Straße Barrier-free
Thu 2022-02-03
15.30 - 17.00 SR Josef-Hirn-Straße SR Josef-Hirn-Straße Barrier-free