618012 PS Epochs B: Art Hstory of the Early Modern Period (High Renaissance to Rococo). Velázquez

summer semester 2022 | Last update: 17.05.2022 Place course on memo list
618012
PS Epochs B: Art Hstory of the Early Modern Period (High Renaissance to Rococo). Velázquez
PS 2
5
weekly
not applicable
German

Expanded knowledge and independent application of art-historical methods on examples referred to in the lecture

The oeuvre of Diego Rodríguez de Silva y Velázquez marks the high point of Spanish painting of the 17th century, the Siglo de Oro. Compared with the baroque heroes of painting of his time, at first, his significance for the development of art seems less obvious. It requires a closer analysis to understand why he was a role model for Goya, Picasso or Francis Bacon, why he was celebrated as an early hero by the Impressionists and why Édouard Manet even declared him to be “the painter of painters”. On the basis of individual works and groups of works, we will analyse the facets of Velázquez’ oeuvre, confront it with positions of his contemporaries and question it with regard to its history of influence.

Presentations and discussions, written work

This course is assessed via continuous assessment and attendance is compulsory

To be announced in the course

LFU: online registration is required!

08.03.2022
Group 0
Date Time Location
Tue 2022-03-08
CANCELED
15.30 - 17.00 41031 UR 41031 UR Barrier-free
Tue 2022-03-15
15.30 - 17.00 41031 UR 41031 UR Barrier-free
Tue 2022-03-22
CANCELED
15.30 - 17.00 41031 UR 41031 UR Barrier-free
Tue 2022-03-29
15.30 - 17.00 41031 UR 41031 UR Barrier-free
Tue 2022-04-05
15.30 - 17.00 41031 UR 41031 UR Barrier-free
Tue 2022-04-26
15.30 - 17.00 41031 UR 41031 UR Barrier-free
Tue 2022-05-03
15.30 - 17.00 41031 UR 41031 UR Barrier-free
Tue 2022-05-10
15.30 - 17.00 41031 UR 41031 UR Barrier-free
Tue 2022-05-17
CANCELED
15.30 - 17.00 41031 UR 41031 UR Barrier-free
Tue 2022-05-24
15.30 - 17.00 41031 UR 41031 UR Barrier-free
Tue 2022-05-31
15.30 - 17.00 41031 UR 41031 UR Barrier-free
Tue 2022-06-07
15.30 - 17.00 41031 UR 41031 UR Barrier-free
Tue 2022-06-14
15.30 - 17.00 41031 UR 41031 UR Barrier-free
Tue 2022-06-21
15.30 - 17.00 41031 UR 41031 UR Barrier-free
Tue 2022-06-28
15.30 - 17.00 41031 UR 41031 UR Barrier-free